Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Although there is some work involved, my family adores this recipe. I end up making 3 pies for thanksgiving, and extra filling that I preserve for later in the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
The difference between this and the canned "pumpkin pie" is obvious. Once you have had it fresh, you can never go back. Loved this recipe. I also cut out little leaves and pumpkins, sprinkle them with cinnamon, and bake them for 10 minutes, then arrange them on the semi-cooled pie for a festive look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyK811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This pumpkin pie exceeded my expectations!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I double the spices and it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Billay
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Excellent recipe !! I adjusted only one thing..I beat the eggs with 2 oz of half and half and rook off 2 oz of the evaporated milk...otherwise this was right on in flavor and taste !!! The picture is the pie about half way done and already is forming a nice firmness...I also used a shortbread pre-made crust for unique taste and time saving !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I baked my pumpkin and pureed it till smooth. I made this pie which turned out very well. It only yields 1 pie, but worth the effort. I did add a bit more spice than called for and a pinch of cloves. It came out excellent. Smooth and creamy. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made the pie exactly as written, and it was very good -- just a little too sweet for me, that's why I took off one star. I might try it with just half a cup of brown sugar next time. The filling looked too liquid at first, but it set up nicely in the oven. I think a final note should be to let the pie rest for at least an hour before cutting into. That's probably common knowledge for experienced bakers, but to a novice it is helpful to state.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicholasAG
Home Town: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Photo by llgrotts
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Didn't make this crust but a very similiar one. Fresh tasting pie; add more spice if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I added about 3/4 cup extra puréed pumpkin on the advice of another reviewer, made my own crust and only added the cinnamon out of the 3 spices listed. I just increased the cinnamon to 2 tsps. I grew up eating pumpkin pie with cinnamon only and I still prefer it that way. But all in all this is a very good recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States