Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This was exactly the recipe I was expecting for a homeade pumpkin pie. Although the recipe does not say you will have to make two crusts. As the filling makes enough for two. I still enjoyed it and so did my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Kilby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This pie was a real hit! It has a lovely pumpkin taste, not overly spiced. The texture is not super creamy like a canned pumpkin produces, but you definitely get a satisfying true pumpkin experience with this. I'll make it again, definitely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Loved this pie. My son really wanted to try homemade, so I rolled up my sleeves and made this recipe. It was better than I imagined it could be. I am not a huge pumpkin pie fan, but this was perfect. I loved that it wasn't overly spicy. I did add a little bit of cornstarch at the very end to help the batter thicken, but that is the only thing I changed. Will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Delicious. I actually had to bake and then steam the pumpkin so it was soft enough to put into my blender for puree. Also I really like the evaporated milk. As I made two pies, I mixed this evaporated milk fresh pumpkin pie recipe with only 1/2 cup of brown sugar (not 3/4) with a 2nd pie recipe which called for condensed milk instead of evaporated milk (no sugar; rest of recipe the same). I also prebaked my pie crusts for 5 mins to avoid sogginess. All of guests raved about the freshness of the pie, and how is tasted light. With only a touch of whipping cream, it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
So yummy!! Loved making this, and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Love this pie!! The crust is a little thin but the taste is amazing overall! I also added 1/2 teasooon of pumpkin pie spice which wasn't on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Ristic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
After my dog decided to take a bite out of my jack-o-lantern, I decided to make pie out of it (after discarding the dog bite part). The pumpkin was pretty watery so I let it drain well and was still able to get enough pumpkin to make 4 pies. To compensate for the wetness, I added 1 tsp of cornstarch to the recipe. otherwise, no changes were made. This recipe is perfect. The seasoning is light, as is the texture of the pie. I have a home made sweet potato pie that I have used for years and it's much denser than this. This almost reminds me of a light custard pie. This recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misslittlelady
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was the first pie I ever made and it turned out PERFECT! Pie Crust: I'm die hard for vegan butter, so I did replace the shortening in the pie crust with that instead, but my pie crust still came out great. Pumpkin: I baked my pumpkin instead of boiling it, which I don't think has any affect on how the pumpkin turns out - boiling may cause it to be a lot more watery, but if you follow suggestions to use a cheesecloth afterwards, you should be fine. Filling: I followed this part pretty closely, and only added a few extra drops of clove extract into the mix. With these few minor adjustments, my pie came out perfect! It looks like a pumpkin pie you'd buy from the store, but tastes a million times better. I'll never buy another pumpkin pie again. This recipe was so easy. It took me less than 2 hours to prep and bake it, and it was ready to eat by the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misslittlelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe and does not even come close to canned pumpkin. I do agree that two cups of pumpkin is not enough. I use two medium pumpkins and organic ingredients. I only have a cup left over and with this I make a small pie. Top it off with whip cream and you have a delicious pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kay Pickles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
It was my first time making this. I loved this recipe because it was super simple. The pie came out amazing! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Cren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States