Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Very good, but I would use about 1/5 less evaporated milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Love this! I've never made pumpkin pie from a pumpkin before and I've got to say, it turned out great! I do agree with some of the reviews, this recipe is better for just one pie unless you want two flat ones. I made one and it was awesome! Not to spicy or sweet. A must try even if you're just starting out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
amazing! soooo much better than canned it's unreal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This recipe is actually really good. It does not make 2 pies. It makes one pie. Unless you like flat, thin, flimsy pies. I increased the pumpkin by 3/4 cup (trying to stretch the batter further) and added a tsp of vanilla. If you make one pie, just increase the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Fantastic recipe! My preference in cooking the pumpkin is to roast the small (2"x2") chunks in a roast pan at 350 for about an hour, then the pumpkin doesnt take on extra water. I have substituted the condensed milk with whipping cream - divine. And as a non-dairy alternative for my dairy-allergic husband, I used coconut milk which worked beautifully as well! This recipe adapts well and is a keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I followed this recipe initially but, I realized I had disposable pie pans that measured 9 11/16 x 1 1/3 inches and this recipe only fills one of these pie pans. This changed the baking time, 15mins @ 425 and 50 mins @ 350. I also used 1 1/2 tspns of pumpkin spice instead of the individual spices and I mixed a can of fat free evap milk with one regular can to lower the fat (I made two pies) My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Very tasty! A great treat for guests and family. I changed it a little by adding some vanilla starch into the whole pumpkin mixture and replaced the white flour with whole wheat, it was amazing! Rich and tasty flavor. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Good flavour. Minus one star because the crust was not very good. Next time I'll use my own pastry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
My eleven year old son made this today. He added cloves to the spice mix. One trick we learned is to cook the pumpkin whole. Make slits in it and bake it in the oven for about 45 minutes at 350 degrees. It is so much easier to cut and then scoop out the seeds and flesh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi Barth Maline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Just awesome. Puts store bought pies to shame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States