Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Came out Great. I'm not suprized as only good ingreadients went in. I used a gram cracker pie pan and dark ( Not light) brown sugar then garnished with some pecan nuts for eye apeal. Just a twist to give it a more maple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I haven't used evaporated milk in many years. I use 2 c. scalded milk let cool a bit before adding to pumpkin mixture. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Great recipe! Super easy to make and tasty! I did double the spices, used fresh pumpkin, and added pumkin spice. The first time I made this I hand made the pie crust, the 2nd time I used store bought :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is great! This recipe makes the perfect amount for a bigger pie, it just fills my 11-inch ceramic pie dish. I also learned just now that you can just roast your pumpkin whole, either the little pie pumpkins OR your jack-o-lantern type pumpkin if you didn't carve it. For the big pumpkin, I cut a slit in it to let out steam, then roasted for 1 hr at 350 degrees, then turned down the oven to 180 degrees for eight hours. In the morning, it was thoroughly cooked, sunk down on the pan. The peel comes right off and the pumpkin flesh is pretty much pre-pureed! Just remove the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was my first time making a homemade pie. Although you can really taste the spices (I doubled all and added cloves) I didn't think it was sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Wonderful, easy recipe! Absolutely delicious...it was a HUGE hit with the family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was ok, however, I didn't think it was worth the hassle. My husband and I both agreed that the regular recipe I use (with canned pumpkin & Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust) is just as good. And a recipe I make with canned pumpkin, cream cheese & a premade graham cracker crust is even better. If you enjoy spending hours in the kitchen & have time, go for it - otherwise, don't waste your time. Not that impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This recipe is great and easy to do even for a homemade pumpkin pie. I customized the recipe for 8 servings, added a 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract and a dash of cloves. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anitam79

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Wonderful easy recipe. I followed some other's suggestions and added a pinch of allspice and cloves. The pie was a hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I have to admit, throughout the process I had my doubts about the pie turning out well. To my surprise it is the best pumpkin pie I have ever had. My reason for not giving this a five star rating is my issue that this does not make 2 pies, as I used a pumpkin a little over 1.5 lbs and it worked without scaling the rest of the ingredients to make a little too much for a 9" pie, but plenty for a 12" pie. I used another crust recipe that worked well. I really want to know if the ingredients are meant for one pie or two, as the typed instructions indicate one pie, but the recipe serving size automatically defaults to two pies. It's really amazing pie, and I'm going to try this pie again with a bigger pumpkin (I think about 3-4 lbs) and not scale the recipe at all. I'm guessing it will make two small 9" pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States