Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is the absolute best pumpkin pie ever! This was my first time making pumpkin pie with a pie pumpkin and I'll never go back to using canned pumpkin or buying a store-bought pumpkin pie ever again! It is a little work, but it's so worth it! I used a store-bought pie crust, roasted one 4.5 lb pie pumpkin at 400 degrees for 1 hr., let it cool, peeled off skin-which came off very easily, and pureed the pumpkin in my food processor. I got quite a bit of pureed pumpkin from just one 4.5 lb pie pumpkin, about 4 cups of puree. Two cups of pumpkin puree was not enough for this recipe so I used all 4 cups of puree. I doubled the entire recipe except for the salt & added 1 tsp. of Allspice. I used a 9" glass pie plate and had plenty of filling left over to make another pie. 40 min. of cooking time was not enough so I increased the cooking time to 55 min. and checked doneness with a toothpick. I let the pie cool for 2 hrs. and then covered & refrigerated it until it was cold before eating...added whipped cream and it was spectacular! I can't say enough about this recipe! 5 plus plus stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is the yummiest pie ever! It was a huge hit last thanksgiving and has been requested for this year (and many times in between)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
My dad absolutely loved this pie!! He ate three pieces in one setting'n
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Awesome Pie, very light and fluffy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChaffyCoot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Everyone loved this recipe. Made two for my home and two to take to work. The one I made fir my home was gone in three days. I Did add extra spices. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was a very good pie. I baked my pumpkin(a sugar/baking pumpkin) then let it cool. I also added slightly more of the cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg than the recipe called for and lowered the sugar slighly. I also added 1/4tp cloves as well. Otherwise it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerrie Rageth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Turned out great....although the texture was a little more dense then I like...although in all fairness, I am not the pumpkin pie fan in the house, my huby is and he thought it was great! Upped the amount of each of the spices by just a pinch, since we like our pumpkin pie a little spicier and added a pinch of black pepper(I ALWAYS do with pumpkin pie)...definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTHERHEN1982

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Light flavor, in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joelleberanek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lemont, Illinois, USA
Living In: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Excellent with home-grown pumpkins! Do not make this with a large pumpkin intended for carving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I received huge reviews for this pumpkin pie. I think using fresh pumpkin made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States