Homemade Fresh Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bkowach
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!! I live in Korea and am not able to get cottage cheese here. This was sooo easy and yummy. I plan to use it in lasagna tomorrow. I do not have a thermometer so I watched for it to just start to boil. Stirred just once during boiling time (which I did on the lowest temp of a gas range). When it started to boil I shut it off and added the vinegar let it sit for 10 min., stirred again and saw the yellow whey. Used two knee highs (new), one inside the other drained and squeezed. Added salt to taste after draining and squeezing(not to milk) and presto!! Wonderful!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakeeney, Kansas, USA
Living In: Gangneung, Kangwon-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Excellent! Easy to make... I needed to add a slight bit more vinegar to make the milk turn. My family liked it so well in my lasagna that I will have to make home made cheese every time. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I love this recipe! I squeezed the chesse cloth some and let it drain about an hour longer so that it formed a ball. We have used this recipe several times in the couple of months and will contine to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Very good- and easier than I thought (considering that I didn't have any cheesecloth!!!) I added herbs, garlic and a little more salt and spread it on German-style "black bread." I cannot wait to embark on more cheese-making adventures!!! PS a note for others, if your milk doesn't coagulate well, you have the choice of returning to heat or adding more vinegar- in view of the fact that the extra vinegar will alter the flavor, I went for more heat. If you save the whey you can make ricotta! (1/4 cup of vinegar for 2 gallons of whey)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Yummy! I use this to make stuffed shells and with lasagna - it was a little messy to drain, but I think the second go-around will be better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was a great recipes for using a bunch of organic milk that I got on sale. We used the cheese in lasagna. It even froze well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was fun and easy to do. I used my cheese in lasagna and it was fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I used this same recipe and really like it as an introduction to cheese-making. After I drained it I added a little kosher salt and some minced garlic. My 15-month old really loves it! She does a happy dance each time she eats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Super easy. I added fresh cracked black pepper, ground sea salt, fresh chives and minced garlic. Spread on crackers. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was fantastic! I never knew making cheese could be so easy. Used this recipe to replace the ricotta cheese in "Baked Ziti II." Makes about 2 cups of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States