Homemade Fresh Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was super easy to make, even though I used coffee filters in place of cheesecloth, and I did half the recipe because I was unsure of how it would turn out. I now see that the flavour came out a bit blah, so next time I will season it with herbs/garlic/etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeecheeH
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
we tried this according to the recipe. it did not work. after we determined that it was essentially a waste, we decided to experiment to see if we could get it to turn out. after adding a lot more vinegar than called for, and waiting overnight before straining, it was not a bad bowl of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Excellent and simple. Try chopping fresh herbs and mixing in before hanging to drain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
wow, super easy! made it with my 8yr old son. he added the vinegar and stirred and tasted it. its great. we added a really big pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Very neat experience! I halved the recipe. From 8 cups of 1% milk I got 1 cup of cheese after squeezing it in the cloth. It is bland but a good base to add whatever flavours or spices. I will be making this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedApple

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
absolutely wonderful! I am going to add some crushed garlic and herbs it may not last the night! It was very easy and set up perfectly. Thank you for the wonderful recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This worked out great, though I didn't realize how long it would take for the milk to heat. I will read through reviews to see if a higher, faster heat would have been more efficient? With a medium heat it still scorched a little on the bottom, but nothing I couldn't remove (I stirred a LOT). I did not need cheese cloth, using a fine mesh strainer instead. I added pink salt after the cheese had drained, before forming it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I had a half-gallon of water buffalo milk (yep, that's right) in the refrigerator that was getting close to its expiration. I used a thermometer, and guesstimated at the vinegar, since it was about 10 cups of milk. It curdled right away, and I added garlic salt and this herb mix my son had, and it was pretty good, a little rubbery perhaps(maybe too much vinegar?) Without the added flavors it would be pretty bland, though. I am saving the liquid whey I drained off and will use it in making bread in place of water. Whey is very high protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This is a very good recipe but it is not Mexican Queso Fresco. QF requires renet. This is cottage cheese and a good one. Seriously easy to make and well worth the 30 minutes you spend doing so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Who knew making queso fresco was soooo easy!... Followed other reviwers suggestions I added the salt at the very end and also added fresh chives from my garden so good! We spread this on crackers and my daughter and I really enjoyed it!Thanks Sunflower for sharing your recipe! Elvira S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Cheese

Turn regular yogurt into simple, flavorful homemade cream cheese.

Yogurt Cheese

This creamy homemade cheese perks up bagels and sandwiches.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States