Homemade Fresh Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I never thought making cheese would be so easy! Goes well with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Great recipe and so easy. One thing to be aware of is to look for milk that is not ULTRA pasteurized. The ULTRA pasteurized will not yield nearly as much cheese as simply pasteurized whole milk. I have added bits of leftover cream, buttermilk, and the like, to this with equal success. You can also add a drop of rennet - animal or vegetable kinds it does not matter - and it will help the process along. Especially if ultra pasteurized milk is your only option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
YUM, this was great! I did have a slight issue though...I brought my milk up tp temp. (so I thought), removed from heat and added in the white vinegar, as stated. Let it set for 10 minutes, but there were hardly any curds. I allowed it to set 5-10 mins. more, but still very few curds. I sort of started to panic, but figured if it's ruined, it's ruined, so I might as well try heating it again and see if that helps. Well, that did the trick! All of the curds formed and seperated from the whey perfectly. I then added the salt and proceeded w/ draining the cheese...Perfect! I do feel that this needs more salt, but I just added some in after it drained and that was fine. I'm only saying what happened in case anyone else has an issue like that they will know what to do. I think my thermometer may be off and that was the problem, so it was no fault of the recipe. Now I just need to decide how to use up this delicious homemade ricotta!? I will def be making this again...it's just too simple not to! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was pretty neat to try. I have made homemade butter, but never tried homemade cheese. I was uncertain whether the recipe would work, so I used the calculate button and changed it to 6 servings. That equalled 4 cups of milk. However, I only got a dissapointing 1/2 cup of cheese (So, I am assuming the full recipe would yield about 2 cups). I used white vinegar and I saved the milk whey left, because I couldn't really taste the vinegar or salt in it. I can use it in another recipe, I believe. I cooked the milk on medium, so it didn't burn, but still continued to stir it. It took about 15 minutes to get up to temperature. I also let the vinegar sit in the milk for 15 minutes, to see if I could get more of it turn. The taste reminds me a little of fresh mozzarella, while the texture reminds me somewhat of ricotta. It was so much less salty than store bought cheese. I only had 2% milk, and believe I may have yielded a little more with the whole milk. I would like to try this again with 4 cups of whole milk or cream. If I do, I will report back the results. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
wow it worked out.I did this recipe for the first time and it was great.I added some garlic and herbs and it turned out the best i have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Thanks for the recipe! Fun to make and delicious. It's a great feeling to know what is in your food. Used organic whole milk and apple cider vinegar. I agree with another reviewer who mentioned the strong taste of the cider vinegar. Not at noticeable once you add seasonings and herbs though. Not 100% sure if I did everything right...brought the milk almost to a boil put in the vinegar and it didn't make a lot of curds. Poured it through the cheesecloth and the liquid still looked very much like milk not whey so I brought it to a slow boil added a little vinegar again and it curdled immediately. So I made one ball of very creamy and one ball of firmer cheese. Mixed them together and seasoned...turned out delicious! I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Really easy to do and tasty! UPDATE: While doing a little cheese making research on the internet, it came to my attention that this is probably closer to 'queso blanco' (acid used is vinegar or lemon juice) than 'queso fresco' (made with rennet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Great recipe. I was so eager to try it and I only had 1 cup of milk in the house. I am a novice and it turned out great. I ahd to reboil it but I got cheese. I love this and so do my children. Not sure I will buy cheese from the store anymore. I've been making smaller 32 ounce milk batches and getting the hang of it. It's very very easy. It's also so versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Awesome! I used white vinegar and the cheese doesn't taste like vinegar at all. My whey seemed milky looking the first time, so I reheated just the whey again to 195, added 1/8 c more vinegar and made about a cup of firmer more set up cheese from what I missed the first time! It even didn't taste like vinegar. The whey came out totally clear and yellowish after that. Thanks so much for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was fantastic! I never knew making cheese could be so easy. Used this recipe to replace the ricotta cheese in "Baked Ziti II." Makes about 2 cups of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Cheese

Turn regular yogurt into simple, flavorful homemade cream cheese.

Yogurt Cheese

This creamy homemade cheese perks up bagels and sandwiches.

How to Make Cheese

See how to make your own fresh homemade cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States