Homemade Fresh Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was super easy to make, even though I used coffee filters in place of cheesecloth, and I did half the recipe because I was unsure of how it would turn out. I now see that the flavour came out a bit blah, so next time I will season it with herbs/garlic/etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeecheeH
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
we tried this according to the recipe. it did not work. after we determined that it was essentially a waste, we decided to experiment to see if we could get it to turn out. after adding a lot more vinegar than called for, and waiting overnight before straining, it was not a bad bowl of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Excellent and simple. Try chopping fresh herbs and mixing in before hanging to drain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
wow, super easy! made it with my 8yr old son. he added the vinegar and stirred and tasted it. its great. we added a really big pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Very neat experience! I halved the recipe. From 8 cups of 1% milk I got 1 cup of cheese after squeezing it in the cloth. It is bland but a good base to add whatever flavours or spices. I will be making this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedApple

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
absolutely wonderful! I am going to add some crushed garlic and herbs it may not last the night! It was very easy and set up perfectly. Thank you for the wonderful recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This worked out great, though I didn't realize how long it would take for the milk to heat. I will read through reviews to see if a higher, faster heat would have been more efficient? With a medium heat it still scorched a little on the bottom, but nothing I couldn't remove (I stirred a LOT). I did not need cheese cloth, using a fine mesh strainer instead. I added pink salt after the cheese had drained, before forming it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I had a half-gallon of water buffalo milk (yep, that's right) in the refrigerator that was getting close to its expiration. I used a thermometer, and guesstimated at the vinegar, since it was about 10 cups of milk. It curdled right away, and I added garlic salt and this herb mix my son had, and it was pretty good, a little rubbery perhaps(maybe too much vinegar?) Without the added flavors it would be pretty bland, though. I am saving the liquid whey I drained off and will use it in making bread in place of water. Whey is very high protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This is a very good recipe but it is not Mexican Queso Fresco. QF requires renet. This is cottage cheese and a good one. Seriously easy to make and well worth the 30 minutes you spend doing so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Who knew making queso fresco was soooo easy!... Followed other reviwers suggestions I added the salt at the very end and also added fresh chives from my garden so good! We spread this on crackers and my daughter and I really enjoyed it!Thanks Sunflower for sharing your recipe! Elvira S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Cheese

Turn regular yogurt into simple, flavorful homemade cream cheese.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Yogurt Cheese

This creamy homemade cheese perks up bagels and sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States