Homemade Four Cheese Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
These were very good. The family loved them. I only made the ravioli and used a homemade meat sauce to go with them. The prep was very time consuming so I'm not sure if I will make them again but they were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Alabama, USA
Photo by Dolly
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
i tried this recipe for ravoli for the first time and it turned out GREAT! for those who need advice on the things that went wrong - IF its too dry, add some MORE water to the dough and i also added a half of a stick of softened butter, it should roll into a smooth ball and when refridgerating it, drizzle oil ontop and cover with plastic wrap. roll out SECTIONS by pinching it off and leaving the rest into the refrigerator if your having difficulty rolling it out, its easier to roll out when its cold. Thats all the advice i can give when doing it by hand not a pasta machine. BTW i only used the pasta recipe, the rest i didnt follow. i used cream cheese and two other shredded cheeses for the filling. VERY time consuming, (i had made 4x the recipe and ended up with a very big pot full of ravioli, more then enough to feed 4 pple) yes, but well worth it! the most time consuming recipes i have ever done turned out great and this counts as one AS LONG as you can revise the recipe a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KingSparta
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
A Standard Dough Recipe, I Use Butter and Not Olive Oil, I Think It Gives a Bigger Flavor. Other Than That A Great Recipe. I did have some cheddar cheese left in the refrigerator so I added it to the filling, and it was good. If you have problems rolling out the dough buy a pasta machine. Even the best chefs have one it was one of my best investments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I was so excited for this recipe because I've really been into cooking homemade pasta lately. I was a little nervous because half the reviews said that the dough was hard to roll, but I did it anyway. Now I wish I wouldn't have :( I only used the dough recipe and it was too hard to mess with. I did it by hand and that may have an effect on it but I still won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Loftin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Great recipe. Used low-fat, non-fat or "light" versions of everything (including the cheeses) and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I made a mistake and didn't leave enough room to pinch the ends and the cheese sort of squished out, but they were still amazing - even without the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was my first time ever making homemade pasta, so lookswise it wasn't the greatest, but my lack of skill in that area is hardly the fault of the recipe. Tastewise, it turned out great. Since I was rolling by hand without benefit of a pasta maker, it did take rather longer than expected. I will make this again when I get my hands on a decent machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
It seemed simple but the dough came out impossible to roll thin enough, the raviolis came open in the boiling water and once done boiling and being baked they still weren't cooked through. My husband couldn't eat it and he's eaten 2 years worth of my cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
My family really liked this ravioli, the dough was great, more of what we think pasta hould taste like. When I try semolina recipes they come out a little to grainy. I think Americans are use to flour pastas so this ones a keeper. I have left over feeling so I am going to make more pasta dough today and fill and freeze. We didn't try the sauce, it sounds good but I had left over marinara thats what lead me to finding a good cheese ravioli. I will try it with the Alfredo though and update my review when I do. TY Callie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States