Homemade Four Cheese Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I am giving this recipe one star only because I have to or else I would give it none. I don't know what went wrong, but I cannot get this recipe to come out right. I have tried twice today. The first time I doubled the recipe for the dough since I have family of 6. The dough was just crumbles. Plus I made it in a bowl instead of on the counter. I had to add more oil and more water just to get it to remotely resemble a ball of dough. I wrapped it and put it in the fridge to rest. When I took it out to roll it, it was like rubber. I could literally pull on it and it would snap back. I decided to give it one more try as I have only made pasta from scratch once or twice. I decided to follow directions to a tee. I did not double the recipe and I made it right on my counter. I made the well and I poured half the egg mixture in the well and tried to mix w/ the flour and the egg just ooozed out on my counter. It was gross! I kept mixing and added the remaining egg and it of course ooozed all over my counter as well which made a huge mess and never incorporated into the dough. I needed and needed and no matter what I did it was just a dry crumbly mess!!! I am no expert, but I do make a lot of things from scratch and unless someone can tell me what I did wrong,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I really want to give this a five, as I was really excited about this recipe and I think it probably is good when done right. I hope a second attempt will do better, so a four will suffice for now. I had a lot of trouble with this, and it was my first time making ravioli. My dough was really difficult to roll out thin enough, so the pasta wound up being too thick when I cut it and didn't cook all the way through. I couldn't taste the filling either (probably because of too much pasta). I did skip the oven part (simply because I was so tired from rolling everything out), so that could've made a difference. The sauce was my favorite part, and it actually turned out beautifully with great flavor. Any advice on pasta making would be great. Good luck to y'all on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laliad5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
great recipe! my only issue is i had way too much left over filling and way to little dough when i halved the recipe. i had a huge headache on my hands trying to stuff the ravioli. i had used strained cottage cheese instead of ricotta and feta with grated parm for the filling cheeses. the finished pasta may have looked horrible but tasted fantastic! will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is the basic pasta recipe that I have been looking for. The oil makes all the difference in the texture versusnjust using flour, egg, salt, and water. This is much closer to real pasta you get in the store in the fresh pasta cooled section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by du_puy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is a review only for the ravioli filling!!!!!: I used my usual dough for pasta: 500 g of flour (mix of AP and whole grain) 5 eggs and a dash of water. For the filling I subbed gouda for the provalone and it was still pretty awesome great combination of cheeses. I made a ricotta cream sauce with garlic, oregano, red pepper flakes, and fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was delicious. I will use my own pasta recipe next time because this one wasn't particularly my favorite. Although there was nothing wrong with it and it did taste good. That being said, this is the BEST recipe for cheese filling I have ever tasted! So, a great big THANK YOU, Callie! My family loved this. And the two sauces paired together was just wonderful! I loved this and it will quickly become a regular dish at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by :D:P;)1717
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
i would probably not use this dough again as it seemed very thick and tasteless. but the filling and the sauce were delicious! you can use the sauce and filling in other pasta dishes as well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by :D:P;)1717

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I could only do 4 because I changed some stuff around (like using wheat flour and no olive oil) and I didn't make the sauce. But the cheese filling I did exactly and it turned out super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
First, I did not use this recipe for the sauce. Second, I followed the advice of other reviewers with the pasat -- used 1 large egg, 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup real butter. I also used fresh parsley. Also, I doubled the pasta recipe as someone suggested. My results were delicious, but I would like to comment on yield. I used a 2" biscuit cutter to make rounds of pasta. Brushed one with egg wash, added approximately one measuring teaspoon of filling and crimped on a top round. I re-rolled the 'scraps' so no pasta was wasted. YIELD: Using this method, I made 52 individual raviolis and had about 1/4 - 1/3 of the filling left. Definitely double or treble the pasta part if you want to use up all of the filling. I made this recipe for my adult daughter's birthday dinner plus my own recipe for a marinara sauce. Everyone at the table was impressed with the homemade ravioli and exclaimed how good they were. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keyboardlady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States