Homemade Four Cheese Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
used the same idea but made a meat sauce for filling and used egg roll wrappers for ravioli. family went crazy for it, VERY VERY good! messy and still time consuming even using the wrappers but OH SO WORTH IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I made my own spicy spaghetti sauce to go with these and after I boiled them i put them in a casserole dish and lightly covered in sauce and a small amount of fresh parmesan cheese and baked on 375 for 45 minutes, really great. I also had no provolone cheese and substituted for fresh parmesan and I doubled the recipe and got 84 ravioli from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
So... first time making ravioli. Don't let my low rating fool you, this ravioli was delicious. The problem was, making it by hand, it was terribly time consuming for what little food you get. We used our own sauce and added sausage to the filling, which was amazing. I recommend having confidence in making dough and having the right equipment for the job. Baking the ravioli after boiling it made all the difference too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe is AMAZING! It tastes just like Maggianos. I made it for a party and it was absolutly delicious. I have never made pasta before. I made 4x the ravioli and froze them. The only problem that I had was that some of them fell apart when I cooked them. I am not sure if it was because I froze them, didn't seal them properly or cooked too many at a time. Not only were the ravioli fantastic but the sauce was unbelievable. I will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
FABULOUS! Tasted like olive garden in our home. We did use wonton wrappers as well since I was busy and didnt have time to actually make the pasta part. Still thought it was amazing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhonda
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This recipe was wonderful! I will say that it is a labor of love because it takes a few hours to make the dough, the filling, the sauce, and then fill the raviolis, and cook them. However, if you have a day to spend in the kitchen, the reward is well worth the effort! I added a small amount of finely diced, cooked chicken to the filling -- about 1 1/2 cups of well-seasoned, baked chicken breasts. This added a bit of texture to the cheese filling. To those who had difficulty with rolling and filling the pasta, I suggest that you may need to spend more time kneading the dough. DO NOT cut this step short. Also, be sure the allow the dough to rest after kneading, and before rolling. This makes all the difference. I wrapped the dough in plastic wrap and let it rest on the counter, at room temp while I was making the filling. Then, when I was ready to roll out the dough, I cut it into fourths, and rolled out 1/4 at at time, keeping the remaining dough wrapped in plastic wrap until ready to use. I was able to get about 11-12 raviolis from each fourth of dough using a 1 1/2 inch biscuit cutter. I did have some filling left over which I placed into a ziploc bag in the freezer to use next time. I waited to make my sauce while the raviolis were draining. I added the marinara to my cream sauce to create a pink sauce. I layered half the raviolis in a baking dish, covered with half the sauce, and then layered the remaining raviolis and sauce. I baked at 350 for 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I've made this twice and it came out spectacular each time! I haven't made the sauces... just the ravioli and filling. Fantastic! I Sauteed some mushrooms and made a little butter garlic sauce to drizzle over the top of the dish... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Everyone in my family loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I am giving this recipe one star only because I have to or else I would give it none. I don't know what went wrong, but I cannot get this recipe to come out right. I have tried twice today. The first time I doubled the recipe for the dough since I have family of 6. The dough was just crumbles. Plus I made it in a bowl instead of on the counter. I had to add more oil and more water just to get it to remotely resemble a ball of dough. I wrapped it and put it in the fridge to rest. When I took it out to roll it, it was like rubber. I could literally pull on it and it would snap back. I decided to give it one more try as I have only made pasta from scratch once or twice. I decided to follow directions to a tee. I did not double the recipe and I made it right on my counter. I made the well and I poured half the egg mixture in the well and tried to mix w/ the flour and the egg just ooozed out on my counter. It was gross! I kept mixing and added the remaining egg and it of course ooozed all over my counter as well which made a huge mess and never incorporated into the dough. I needed and needed and no matter what I did it was just a dry crumbly mess!!! I am no expert, but I do make a lot of things from scratch and unless someone can tell me what I did wrong,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I really want to give this a five, as I was really excited about this recipe and I think it probably is good when done right. I hope a second attempt will do better, so a four will suffice for now. I had a lot of trouble with this, and it was my first time making ravioli. My dough was really difficult to roll out thin enough, so the pasta wound up being too thick when I cut it and didn't cook all the way through. I couldn't taste the filling either (probably because of too much pasta). I did skip the oven part (simply because I was so tired from rolling everything out), so that could've made a difference. The sauce was my favorite part, and it actually turned out beautifully with great flavor. Any advice on pasta making would be great. Good luck to y'all on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laliad5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States