Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I liked them.they made up quickly.The only thing I would not do is knead the dough too much,it makes the tortillas tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Ok first I want say Yahoo! I didn't change anything they almost taste and look like my Moms the real test is when they cool down,but so far this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Awesome! Loved it! Did this in half for just us two and my husband ate it all!! Lol Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Garcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I personally have never made tortillas from scratch before and these turned out beautifully. They almost looked store bought once I was finished. I did not use the lard because I did not have any on hand so I substituted it with margarine. I was also planning on using them for quesadillas so I didn't separate the dough into 24 balls. They would have been too small so instead I was able to make 16 six to eight inch tortillas using the full recipe. Oh and make sure that you use HOT WATER when mixing. It makes a big difference. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I have tried lots of tortilla recipes and this one hands down is one of the best! I made it as written with no changes, other than I halfed it. I used vegy oil and coconut oil both in other recipes before with "OK" results. I used lard this time (the amount is small). My opinion, it makes a HUGE difference in the texture of the tortillas...the ones I made last night were exactly like restaurant quality (soft, pliable with good taste). Few helpful things: 1) used very warm water, adding a little at a time, (ended up using less than the recipe called for); 2) after forming into balls, covered the bowl with a damp towel secured on top by a plate to keep the moisture in, and let the dough rest about 15 min (30 would've probably been better); 3) when rolling out the tortillas, use only a VERY light dusting of flour (you don't want to put too much flour back into your tortillas or they tend to be a little stiff), I turned the dough a couple of times when rolling out to start the form of the tortilla, then turned my body and rolling pin to finish out the final shape; 4) I used a Tfal skillet (didn't have a cast iron) on med/hi, cooked 25 sec/flipped, cooked 25 sec/flipped, cooked 10 sec more, then moved tortilla to a damp kitchen towel covered plate (place the warm tortilla between the folds of the towel) then cover the plate and towel with a large bowl to hold in the heat and moisture (this in lieu of a tortilla warmer container). Huge hit! Stored leftovers in fridge in ziploc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Realized I ran out of tortillas after my husband took the car. Just made these with margarine as that is all I had in the house and the ONLY problem I have is the fact that I don't think my son will EVER settle for store bought again! Can't wait to try it with lard, I bet they will be out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lee Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Thanks for sharing this great recipe, definitely keeping this in my kitchen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Simple, easy and WAY better than store bought. Hubby loved them. I was out and we wanted to make breakfast burritos for dinner. I looked up the recipe, had the ingredients and it didn't take anytime at all. I made the whole recipe and have some stored in the fridge. I did not have lard, had a stick of vegetable shortening but didn't want to use it because of all the hydrogenated garbage in it, so I used organic butter (about 2 1/2 tablespoons) in the recipe. It turned out fine. Organic flour, sea salt, aluminum free baking powder and organic butter. Now those are ingredients I can live with and much healthier and tastier than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Not enough lard - tortillas were too brittle and thick, not soft and thin as they should be. Also, hot water should been used when mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I definitely love this recipe, I'm navajo and I have no idea how to make bread. I made this for the first time today and it came out perfect... Thank You so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaManda A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 708) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States