Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Wonderful recipe! Followed exactly. Got 16 tortillas that were about 8 inches. I'm sure someone more adept with a rolling pin could have gotten more (or someone with a tortilla press!). Tastes incredible. Very pliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was fantastic! I loved how quick this recipe was! The first batch I made I halved the recipe and used butter instead of lard. The second batch I still subbed butter but made the whole batch. Both turned out wonderfully! I, like other reviewers, was not able to get 24 tortillas from this recipe. I got 18 and they were a bit thicker and more bread-y. I now realize I could make the balls much smaller but I actually really liked them thicker. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
So good! I made it almost like the recipe reads except I added another tablespoon of lard. Next time I will a bit more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Easy and yummy! I didn't have lard so I used butter, doubling it to 4 tbs. Way cheaper than store bought and just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I halved everything accept I used 2 T of coconut oil instead of lard. It made 7 delisious tortillas. This is easy but I am still working on making them round. I love their are no preservatives!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I loved this recipe. I did one little change though. I don't use shortening or lard but I had coconut oil so I used that. Perfect and didn't taste the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I loved these, but I had to add way more lard than the recipe. I made a half recipe and used 3 TBS, so triple the amount called for. Other than that, absolutely delicious and EASY. Don't sub for the lard, it really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This recipe is awesome. I even use it was a pizza crust & everyone loves it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Very good recipe! I used coconut oil instead of lard (1/4 cup) and 2 tsp. of himalayan salt, and they turned out very good. Got my kids and husbands seal of approval. I will save this recipe and use again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Let the balls rest for at least ten minutes before rolling or the gluten in the dough won't relax enough and will "shrink" on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 678) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States