Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
If you cant eat lard, you can insted use margarine, they taste the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
979 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ysidro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I wanted to make quesadillas, but didn't have tortillas, and didn't feel like running to the store for some. I 1/2ed this recipe because I didn't need very many. My husband LOVED them!!! And I was wondering how he'd react, as he's very picky. He thinks these really are so much better than store bought. I did substitute shortening for lard, and used hot water. The dough is nice and stretchy, and I could roll them very thin with a wooden roller. So delicious. I was surprised though, especially with my baking experience, that 1/2 the recipe made only 4, 8-10 inch tortillas. I guess 2 cups of flour doesn't go far in this recipe, but there really aren't any other ingredients so I guess that's it. So good though. You won't regret using this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
670 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rosabela
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I wish I could give this recipe more stars! I've been using Tortillas I from this site and thought it was the best one I had found ... until this one came along. I love the fact that you don't have to use boiled water, and that you don't have to let it rest for 10 minutes. This was fast and easy to make. I halved the recipe and divided the dough in 8 golf-size balls and rolled out as thin as I could (about the width of a dime). It felt like I was rolling pizza dough instead. I lightly floured my rolling pin and surface when it was a bit sticky, and rolled from the center out, rotating the dough 90 degrees ever so often. I got smooth edges, but if the edges are jagged then too much lard/shortening was added. I cooked each tortilla for 10-20 seconds on the first side and a little less on the second size. The I wrapped them in a clean dishtowel and stored them in a shopping bag. THE BEST PART OF ABOUT THIS RECIPE IS THAT THE TORTILLAS ARE PLIABLE! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, LaDonna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1074 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This recipe is so simple and easy! I only made half the recipe and used vegetable shortening since I had no lard on hand. Like another reviewer I also used hot water. The dough was very easy to handle and roll very thin(although I've never really managed to roll out an actual circle, just oblongs-oh well!). The dough is on the sticky side, so I was very generous with the flour while rolling out each tortilla, but this didn't affect the final result. Best tortillas ever, including restaurants! My husband is from Texas and is pretty snotty about Tex-Mex food, and he could NOT believe how great these were, still talked about it the next day. My 3-yr old daughter told me again and again how good they were. So it's a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Excellent Tortilla recipe. I know because that's how my Grandmother made them, and she was 100% Spanish. I learned from her, and am so glad I did, as the store-bought tortillas (most brands) don't even come close to authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
One of my great great grandmothers was Mexican, so I was itching to try my hand at making homemade tortillas. I'm so glad I tried this recipe because it's perfect! I followed the recipe exactly except I subbed margarine for the lard (what I had) and I made 16 tortillas instead of the 24. What I love most about this is that it doesn't use so much fat in it (only 2 tbsp as opposed to 3/4 cup like I saw in some other recipes). The taste and texture is good as well. I just had one with salsa on it and it was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This recipe turned out great! It was easy. I didn't have lard, shortening or even margarine so I used butter. The tortillas turned out fine, but I couldn't get them as thin as the ones you buy at the store they were a bit bready. I liked them like that. I made half the recipe and I did get 12 tortillas. I had left overs so the next morning I warmed them up and spread some butter and sprinkled a little cinnamon sugar over them. It was delicious with a cup of coffee. I will be making these again using shortening. Thanks for the recipe LaDonna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I was a little hesitant to try this at first. I had been wanting to find a homeade tortilla recipe, as the ones in the bag are full of preservatives, but I thought they would be difficult to make. Not so! These were easy and delicious. There was none of that funky aftertaste you always get with the premade, bagged variety. I did use shortening instead of lard, but that was because I didn't want to buy a bunch of lard that I would never use. I halved the recipe and got 8 10 inch tortillas. I will NEVER again buy these from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messy_jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These were so easy to make, especially compared to other tortilla recipes I have used, and they turned out great. I used shortening instead of lard, and i added about a tsp of sugar for extra flavor. I made 1/4 of this recipe because I was only preparing these for my boyfriend and I, it made 4 small tortillas, although next time I will just halve it and make larger tortillas. I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHBRASILE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Wonderful! I used margarine and hot water as others previously noted. Rolled out on a floured silpat with a floured ziploc bag on top. No problems with sticking. Made 24 tortillas, ~ 6 inches each. Too small for making burritos but just right for softshell tacos. I may try making 12 larger tortillas next time. The smaller tortillas were wonderful reheated the next morning for breakfast tacos. I imagine they'll work well as wraps as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States