Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by rosabela
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I wish I could give this recipe more stars! I've been using Tortillas I from this site and thought it was the best one I had found ... until this one came along. I love the fact that you don't have to use boiled water, and that you don't have to let it rest for 10 minutes. This was fast and easy to make. I halved the recipe and divided the dough in 8 golf-size balls and rolled out as thin as I could (about the width of a dime). It felt like I was rolling pizza dough instead. I lightly floured my rolling pin and surface when it was a bit sticky, and rolled from the center out, rotating the dough 90 degrees ever so often. I got smooth edges, but if the edges are jagged then too much lard/shortening was added. I cooked each tortilla for 10-20 seconds on the first side and a little less on the second size. The I wrapped them in a clean dishtowel and stored them in a shopping bag. THE BEST PART OF ABOUT THIS RECIPE IS THAT THE TORTILLAS ARE PLIABLE! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, LaDonna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1073 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
If you cant eat lard, you can insted use margarine, they taste the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
977 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ysidro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I wanted to make quesadillas, but didn't have tortillas, and didn't feel like running to the store for some. I 1/2ed this recipe because I didn't need very many. My husband LOVED them!!! And I was wondering how he'd react, as he's very picky. He thinks these really are so much better than store bought. I did substitute shortening for lard, and used hot water. The dough is nice and stretchy, and I could roll them very thin with a wooden roller. So delicious. I was surprised though, especially with my baking experience, that 1/2 the recipe made only 4, 8-10 inch tortillas. I guess 2 cups of flour doesn't go far in this recipe, but there really aren't any other ingredients so I guess that's it. So good though. You won't regret using this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
669 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This recipe turned out great! It was easy. I didn't have lard, shortening or even margarine so I used butter. The tortillas turned out fine, but I couldn't get them as thin as the ones you buy at the store they were a bit bready. I liked them like that. I made half the recipe and I did get 12 tortillas. I had left overs so the next morning I warmed them up and spread some butter and sprinkled a little cinnamon sugar over them. It was delicious with a cup of coffee. I will be making these again using shortening. Thanks for the recipe LaDonna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This recipe is so simple and easy! I only made half the recipe and used vegetable shortening since I had no lard on hand. Like another reviewer I also used hot water. The dough was very easy to handle and roll very thin(although I've never really managed to roll out an actual circle, just oblongs-oh well!). The dough is on the sticky side, so I was very generous with the flour while rolling out each tortilla, but this didn't affect the final result. Best tortillas ever, including restaurants! My husband is from Texas and is pretty snotty about Tex-Mex food, and he could NOT believe how great these were, still talked about it the next day. My 3-yr old daughter told me again and again how good they were. So it's a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Yes, these are way better than the tortillas in a bag. However, if you separate them into 24 balls, like the recipes says, you get such small tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Great, simple recipe. I used 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat flour and shortening instead of lard. They turned out tender and yummy. The only thing I will change next time is extra salt. The WW flour needs just a bit more salt I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barefootpixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Excellent Tortilla recipe. I know because that's how my Grandmother made them, and she was 100% Spanish. I learned from her, and am so glad I did, as the store-bought tortillas (most brands) don't even come close to authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I've been trying to make tortillas since being taught by a Spanish family about 15 years ago - without a recipe. They always turned out like thick roadmaps. THESE DO NOT. What I learned from reading reviews and my Spanish family lessons: First of all, only use this recipe then...1. Shortening works as a great substitute, lard is best 2. Use your mixer with a dough hook if you have one. 3. Should be smooth as a baby's hiney when done kneading, no stretch/tear marks when you form a ball with the whole recipe. (Seriously. Pat the ball like you're giving a love pat. Should be the same.) 4. Do let the 24 balls rest under a damp cloth if you can. (10-20 min) They will not stretch back and become thick 5. Use light dusting of flour on your board and pin 6. VERY IMPORTANT: pick up and turn 90 degrees every time you roll to get a round tortilla! 6. Use a dry, extremely hot cast iron skillet. 7. Roll to dime width for large thin wraps, quarter for thin tortillas 8. Once cooked, stack wrapped in a damp towel or the 1st side cooked will stay crunchy. 9. Refrigerate leftovers or they will mold in a couple of days. 10. I like to make ahead and re-heat in foil in the oven @ 350@. HOPE THAT HELPS! Thank you LaDonna for the perfect ratio of ingredients that should be so simple but it's not and only the Grandma's know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prttimecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
One of my great great grandmothers was Mexican, so I was itching to try my hand at making homemade tortillas. I'm so glad I tried this recipe because it's perfect! I followed the recipe exactly except I subbed margarine for the lard (what I had) and I made 16 tortillas instead of the 24. What I love most about this is that it doesn't use so much fat in it (only 2 tbsp as opposed to 3/4 cup like I saw in some other recipes). The taste and texture is good as well. I just had one with salsa on it and it was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States