Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I made the mistake of not rolling them out thin enough. It makes a big difference. And I sub'd shortening for lard, and even added a bit of margarine after the fact. I'm sure these would have been better with the lard but they were a good starting point for me. I recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
We have used this recipe a number of times. I use my kitchen aide to mix it up and knead it. Then I roll in small balls and use my tortilla press. Super easy and super tasty! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Easy as pie. I think I put too much flour in (didn't have sifter). Felt a little dense. Recommend use a little more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
i used margarine instead of lard and they were perfect. light, chewy, and soft. i used some and froze the rest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I've made this twice and each time it's better. :-) Thank you for all the reviews because without them, I wouldn't have tried it. I like to read them first before trying any recipe and even when negative, I learn from those so I won't make the same mistakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Have to agree with melodyanne. This recipe does need more lard but I found 4 Tbsp to be sufficient. It also works very well with expellar pressed coconut oil though you might want to add a little extra salt since you loose some flavor from the lard. Also, as others have said if you try to get 24 out of this they will be tiny. I get about a dozen nice big tortillas out of this recipe. One more point, let the dough rest for at least 30 minutes to make it easier to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
NEVER buying store bought tortillas EVER again. Made half the recipe, exactly as it is written and cooked my tortillas in a plain, non-stick skillet. Needed 8 enchilada sized tortillas for a recipe, so that was all I made out of half the recipe. Cooked first side 10-17 seconds and the second side 6-10 seconds. These are delicious!! Just make them- you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I substituted butter for lard and whole wheat flour for the a-p (b/c that's all I had) and it worked just fine! I halved the recipe and maybe I didn't roll the tortillas out flat enough, but was only able to get 8 tortillas out of 2 cups of flour. I would definitely make this again! Thank-you LaDonna for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
First time making tortillas and these did not disappoint! I scaled the recipe in half, used part whole wheat flour and made 8 tortillas. Cooked them in a dry cast iron skillet. These cook very fast. Literally in seconds. Looking forward to seeing how the leftovers hold up. The tortillas made great tacos.... didn't crack or leak at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
REALLY YUMMY! Going to chose this recipe again! you CAN substitute lard for shortening (which is what I did). It turned out great! only thing with flour tortillas is there easy to make, just labor intensive if you roll out the tortillas by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States