Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I found this recipe to be WONDERFUL! I am very, very picky about tortillas, as the ones I buy in the store feel too dry or they are just too small. With this recipe, I made about 35 decently sized tortillas and they taste delicious! Instead of the lard I used margarine, the only solid "fat" I had in the house at the time. I am looking forward to experimenting with this recipe, possibly making a more dessert-oriented version with cinnamon and a hint of sugar in them for apple filled tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious and crazy easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flecka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I didn't want to go to the store and needed a quick easy recipe. This has to be one of the easiest recipes ever. I made the dough early in the day took about 5 minutes. I separated the dough into 12 parts then just put them in a gallon size baggie and refrigerated until later that day. When I made them I did use 1/4 cup of Crisco not lard they easily made large 12" tortilla's. My family could not believe that I made them they were better than store bought supper soft. I don't think I'll be buying tortillas again. There is a million different things you can do don't be afraid to add flavor or spice and if you make extra and cut the tortilla into triangles prior to cooking fry them up and make tortilla chips to go with dinner. The were just as good and soft the next day did not even need to be heated. MUST TRY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These are so good, and so easy to make! Never going back to store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I don't have a lot of experience with homemade tortillas. A friend made some once and we found them dry, stiff, and rather tasteless. This recipe is very quick and easy. I made them with my kids and my four year old rolled most of them out. The dough is easy to roll really thin, which was important to us. We tried cooking them on a plain cast iron griddle and with butter. We liked them both ways. We found it was really easy to make them into quesadillas as we made them. We just put slices of cheese on while cooking the second side, then folded it in half. We'll definitely be making them again. I took away one star because I can't say I passionately love them like many of the reviewers, but I think it's just because I've never really had homemade tortillas and it's probably an acquired taste. My husband really liked them. My kids both ate a moderate amount of both the dough and the quesadillas. Neither of them liked the plain tortillas. So I made all of them into quesadillas and put them in the fridge. I'll re heat them tomorrow and see how they are the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly but my tortillas came out crunchy? Also when put on the pan the tortilla would have just one large bubble! It was like a ball and I had to flatten it with my spatula...Not sure what I did wrong here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It is the best recipe that I have tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by agraciaochs
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Cool seasonal idea... roll and cut with cookie cutters then cook as directed. They make great dipping crackers and are also delicious with just cinnamon on them (my son's idea). Much better than sugar filled cookies and a fun holiday tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
So good I eat like pita bread. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Love it! Had to add more lard but this was my first time trying this recipe and they came out perfect! Made fish tacos and they couldn't have tasted better! Awesome recipe people, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 687) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States