Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I don't have a lot of experience with homemade tortillas. A friend made some once and we found them dry, stiff, and rather tasteless. This recipe is very quick and easy. I made them with my kids and my four year old rolled most of them out. The dough is easy to roll really thin, which was important to us. We tried cooking them on a plain cast iron griddle and with butter. We liked them both ways. We found it was really easy to make them into quesadillas as we made them. We just put slices of cheese on while cooking the second side, then folded it in half. We'll definitely be making them again. I took away one star because I can't say I passionately love them like many of the reviewers, but I think it's just because I've never really had homemade tortillas and it's probably an acquired taste. My husband really liked them. My kids both ate a moderate amount of both the dough and the quesadillas. Neither of them liked the plain tortillas. So I made all of them into quesadillas and put them in the fridge. I'll re heat them tomorrow and see how they are the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly but my tortillas came out crunchy? Also when put on the pan the tortilla would have just one large bubble! It was like a ball and I had to flatten it with my spatula...Not sure what I did wrong here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It is the best recipe that I have tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by agraciaochs
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Cool seasonal idea... roll and cut with cookie cutters then cook as directed. They make great dipping crackers and are also delicious with just cinnamon on them (my son's idea). Much better than sugar filled cookies and a fun holiday tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
So good I eat like pita bread. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Love it! Had to add more lard but this was my first time trying this recipe and they came out perfect! Made fish tacos and they couldn't have tasted better! Awesome recipe people, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Really good reminds me of my grandma's!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I did not follow the recipe exactly because of my Gluten sensitive stomach and husband's vegan preference. I substituted peanut oil for the Lard and used spelt flour. I also used 1 tablespoon baking powder and I placed 2 tsp of salt in warm water to dissolve the salt. Finally, after mixing the dough, I let it set for one hour. I don't know what allowing the dough to set for 60 minutes does, but it was much easier to handle the dough after it sets than trying to work with it after mixing. For extra flavor I place in 1 tsp of Italian Herbs and Rosemary in the mixture before cooking. Much much better than anything in the stores with all the preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
These came out tough and flavorless. I followed the directions exactly and wondered what else I could do to make them better. I have a tortilla press so I was able to get them rolled and cooked fine. Other recipes I've looked at use a lot more butter or lard. I think I'll have to go that route to make them tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Fantastic - used butter and worked great with the tortilla press my mom gave us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 683) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States