Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I followed the recipe, but the tortillas were brittle and pretty tasteless. My guess is that a lot more lard is needed. I'll do some research and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
My boyfriend said the tortillas reminded him off his grandma's! That a is more than a compliment Love the recipe; super fast, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ju
Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I just made these & they were good. Used canola oil because I didn;t have lard, and warm water. I quartered the recipe and made 6 thin 7-inch rounds. Will post picture next time I make them. Will try olive oil next time. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Great recipe. I replaced lard with vegetable shortening and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Commie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Jolla, California, USA
Living In: Stateline, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
These were pretty easy, and had great texture and taste. I made these because I always end up throwing away half the package of bought tortillas, and by making them myself I can control what goes in them. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I want to thank all of you for making, eating, enjoying and rating this recipe. I am the submitter of this recipe. I grew up making these tortillas with my mom. I live in NM and i got the recipe from a wonderful lady whom I've know all my life. She used to cook her tortillas on a cast iron stove lid. When I got married I got a lid from my mom as a wedding gift. I hope you continue to enjoy the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
So frickin' easy! I do what one other reviewer suggested and let the divided dough sit under a wet towel for ten minutes, and boy does that make all the difference. I think the original poster didn't have burritos or other wraps in mind when they set the servings though, I make 16 per recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Easy! I forgot tortillas at the store so I tried this recipe and they came out much better than store-bought. The only change I made was that I used organic coconut oil instead of lard and a bit more than the the recipe called for. It made for a much healthier version. I have an iron tortilla skillet that I use to heat tortillas which worked out great for these - I highly recommend getting one or a flat iron for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Shelton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I had no lard and used 4 tbsp of softened margarine instead. I followed the rest of the recipe as written and came out with a wonderful dough. It was a tiny bit sticky as I was first kneading but, as soon as I placed it on a floured surface and began kneading then it was fine. Rolling it out was fine for me. I did not separate into individual balls...I rolled out big pieces and then took a large sized salad/soup bowl to make the circles which helped in 2 ways. 1-the edges were clean and 2-after you cut around the bowl the tortilla itself "sticks" to the bowl so it keeps it's shape on the way to the pan. I also cooked mine in a pizza pan using a tiny bit of stick spray. They came out crisp and flavorful. I also added grated cheese into my dough because we were making quesadillas, and that was great. I am going to use the same dough tomorrow morning adding cinnamon sugar and icing and making breakfast tortillas. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I made the dough in the food processor. Easy dough to work with.The hardest part was getting them rolled out in a circle. Most of them came out rectangular. Next time I will remember to shake off the flour as it burned on to the pan. Despite all this they taste good and saved a trip to the store. I halved the recipe and got 8, 8" tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Hoey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 722) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States