Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by agraciaochs
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Cool seasonal idea... roll and cut with cookie cutters then cook as directed. They make great dipping crackers and are also delicious with just cinnamon on them (my son's idea). Much better than sugar filled cookies and a fun holiday tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
So good I eat like pita bread. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Love it! Had to add more lard but this was my first time trying this recipe and they came out perfect! Made fish tacos and they couldn't have tasted better! Awesome recipe people, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Really good reminds me of my grandma's!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I did not follow the recipe exactly because of my Gluten sensitive stomach and husband's vegan preference. I substituted peanut oil for the Lard and used spelt flour. I also used 1 tablespoon baking powder and I placed 2 tsp of salt in warm water to dissolve the salt. Finally, after mixing the dough, I let it set for one hour. I don't know what allowing the dough to set for 60 minutes does, but it was much easier to handle the dough after it sets than trying to work with it after mixing. For extra flavor I place in 1 tsp of Italian Herbs and Rosemary in the mixture before cooking. Much much better than anything in the stores with all the preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
These came out tough and flavorless. I followed the directions exactly and wondered what else I could do to make them better. I have a tortilla press so I was able to get them rolled and cooked fine. Other recipes I've looked at use a lot more butter or lard. I think I'll have to go that route to make them tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Fantastic - used butter and worked great with the tortilla press my mom gave us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Great recipe. Super easy to make. Made half the recipe first to see if I needed to tweek it. Tasted great. I'll never buy them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
My child says these are the best tortillas ever. Even better than the fresh ones in the restaurant. I tried using part whole wheat flour but the texture and flavour was off. Making it with all white was better (not healthier but yummier) and I too used vegetable shortening and hot water. I just cook them on my electric griddle and they come out perfectly. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Did not like this - am sticking with my regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 660) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States