Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This is a good recipe. If it doesn't turn out well for you then here are some tips: Use Bread flour. Use a stand mixer with a dough hook and let it knead the dough for 10 minutes. Thinner is better. the thinner you roll out your dough the more bubbly it gets. When they are done cooking place them under a damp cloth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Black

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Truly love this recipe it's so easy and quick for when you don't have a lot of time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turtle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cambridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I always felt that making homemade flour tortillas would be too much work and too time consuming. Boy, was I wrong! I halved the recipe (only three of us for dinner) and I have to say that this recipe exceeded my expectations in every way. I made the tortillas earlier in the day and then reheated them by placing in a ziplock bag and microwaving on medium for 40 seconds. Everyone commented on how delicious they tasted. I'm never buying them again! Thank you for this excellent recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Just made these- no lard - only had butter- easy and tender and delish thank you! Happy cinco de mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
made these at a friends house and they were simply to make. I have never been a huge fan of using shortening, so I used olive oil and they worked well for me. I did drizzle a little bit more oil as it didn't look crumbly enough, but using the oil worked well. I would make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Twinkee1
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I used real butter instead of lard, and will be storing in the fridge and re-heating them as needed. I wonder if you could add a bit if citric acid for longevity?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
We use this recipe any time we want tacos now. Its quick, easy and tastes way better than those you find on the grocery store shelves. Biggest advantage for me: they are low sodium so I can enjoy tacos again. We make a recipe and divide them into round balls which we then freeze. Easy to get out the number we need for the next meal, thaw and cook. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This is the best tortilla recipe around! I've used many. I know it says not to use shortening instead of lard, but I did with wonderful results! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VintageMommy777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Perfect. Used my dough hook in my stand mixer. Added a pinch of sugar. Sprayed the counter with Pam instead of using flour. Just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 679) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States