Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
These are amazing. Moderate work, huge return. I also watched the video and saw they kept them in a tortilla warmer, I didn't have one so I used a round pyrex casserole. Keep it covered in between making them they end up being warm and pliable, just perfect. Also, because I made these a couple of hours before I was eating them I put them in a cold oven and then put the hot cast iron skillet on the oven rack below them and closed the oven. They kept warm until dinner without heating the oven. I am going to try and freeze them, I'll let you know how that worked out. Just some notes, I kneaded the dough about 5 minutes. When rolling them I found that if you roll them by turning the rolling pin a 1/4 of a turn on every pass you will get round tortillas. Make sure you roll past the edge on every roll. Use enough flour and keep rolling, they will get thin. This made twenty 6 to 7 inch tortillas for me. I will never buy store bought again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeneen Skewes Pylant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Right on like we do it with lard. I let the dough rest. So it will stretch when you roll it out. I roll with a wooden roller once up one down then turn the tortilla a quarter turn and repeat until you have a nice round tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Made this recipe today. My sister-in-law who is mexican came over and asked how I made the tortillas. I told her from this recipe and then told her what's in it. She said well thats exactly how I make mine. Lol. Nice to know I picked the correct recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Great, easy recipe! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
fantastic i make these all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Made this when I found that I had not bought the tortillas I needed. So simple. Try this and you won't. Be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as described. The tortillas came out brittle and dry. I believe the recipe here should use much more lard (just over 1/2 cup is needed for 2 cups of flour), hot water, and include a 15 to 20 minute resting period for the dough before it is cut into the smaller balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time and it came out good, not great, but pretty good. I added 3 tablespoons of vegetable shortening instead of lard. Using hot water helped with elasticity. Overall very tasty, my husband was very pleased. My hardest part is rolling them into actual circles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chagyrlchicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
thank you for the great recipe..I used ww flour a touch more salt and ghee in place of lard. Oh, and iI cut them into 16 that way the size wsa right for me.. Around 2.5 grams of dough each.... VERY good! Ive had such a hard time making tortillas before and these are soooo good!!! Tips would include, allow dough balls to rest under damp cloth for 25mins to ensure they are very moist and as you take off of stove cover with same damp cloth. Make sure you roll these out very thin or you will have tasty flat bread lol (not that anything is wrong with that!!) ALL IN ALL I WOULD GIVE 10 STARS IF I COULD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I have been wanting to make homemade tortillas for the longest and when I found this recipe I decided to try it. Oh my God they are so good. You will love them. They are so easy to make and that's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 664) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States