Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Tabitha
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Ok I changed them, gluten free and they turned out yummy, I topped them with some of my fav seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Perfect every time. I will never eat tacos, fajitas or burritos unless I have a homemade tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carson's Mommy
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I can't believe that it is this easy to make tortillas, even without a tortilla press! The dough is so easy to work with! I did not have any problems rolling the dough out paper-thin using only a rolling pin and without additional dusting of flour. I also love that the recipe calls for very little fat. I used palm oil & coconut oil blend instead of lard and the recipe still worked! This recipe is excellent and makes delicious, soft and tender tortillas which are definitely much better than those bought at the store. Because they are quite easy to make, I will no longer purchase commercial tortillas! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This is the only tortilla recipe this very inexperienced white girl has enter used... It's wonderful! Make must make sure you roll them out paper thin, but they are soft and delightful every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Gilman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
In spite of the warning in the recipe, I subbed the lard with about 1 Tbsp of canola oil and 1 Tbsp of olive oil with delicious results. It honestly wasn't too bad to work with (after my substitution), and I found that once I allowed the dough to rest I was able to make very large, very thin tortillas (fewer calories) without tearing them in the process, they were super-stretchy and forgiving. Even when these thinner tortillas were full of taco toppings they didn't tear. This is an awesome recipe and I highly recommend it, I will never use another tortilla recipe. I did find that the recommended size of the dough balls was too small for my family's tastes, so next time I will cut the yield and make fewer dough balls. I used some of the leftover cooked tortillas to make cinnamon and sugar rollups for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
If you're having trouble rolling out circles, look at the back of your largest round dinner plates to see if they have a circular "foot" molded into the ceramic. If so, put each lightly floured ball onto a cutting board and then press it out round with the bottom of your dinner plate. If it's still a little thick just roll a bit more after pressing it out trying to keep the round shape. Pressing out the dough instead of rolling works a bit better if you do have a slightly higher lard content. You can also try pressing out rounds just by pressing them out flat on your floured surface using a lightly floured cutting board. (This method makes it a little hard to get the thickness even, though.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Awesome. I swapped in city coconut oil for lard. Very flexible. Taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Kirsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Kendrick Brock
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Made my first batch ever, using this recipe. My daughter and I ate them for breakfast, lunch and dinner! They were delicious flavor. Working on the second batch now. Not beautiful but they made up for it in taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I used self raising flour in place of plain because I didn't have enough and it saved me from adding the powders. This recipe was easy and quick, although I only made 8 from the quantities given. It makes me feel good to make something from scratch that our family uses regularly and costs a fortune to buy. We wrapped a low fat chilli con carne in these and created a cross between tacos, burritos and enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I was trying to find a recipe as close to my granma's recipe for tortillas. I often help her make them and she died before I could get the recipe from her. This is close to her recipe as I could get that I remember but instead of lard she used oil. My granma's tortillas were the best I ever had I'm sure with me changing the lard to oil will be just as good as her's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 712) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States