Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I just made these & they were good. Used canola oil because I didn;t have lard, and warm water. I quartered the recipe and made 6 thin 7-inch rounds. Will post picture next time I make them. Will try olive oil next time. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Great recipe. I replaced lard with vegetable shortening and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Commie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Jolla, California, USA
Living In: Stateline, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
These were pretty easy, and had great texture and taste. I made these because I always end up throwing away half the package of bought tortillas, and by making them myself I can control what goes in them. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I want to thank all of you for making, eating, enjoying and rating this recipe. I am the submitter of this recipe. I grew up making these tortillas with my mom. I live in NM and i got the recipe from a wonderful lady whom I've know all my life. She used to cook her tortillas on a cast iron stove lid. When I got married I got a lid from my mom as a wedding gift. I hope you continue to enjoy the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
So frickin' easy! I do what one other reviewer suggested and let the divided dough sit under a wet towel for ten minutes, and boy does that make all the difference. I think the original poster didn't have burritos or other wraps in mind when they set the servings though, I make 16 per recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Easy! I forgot tortillas at the store so I tried this recipe and they came out much better than store-bought. The only change I made was that I used organic coconut oil instead of lard and a bit more than the the recipe called for. It made for a much healthier version. I have an iron tortilla skillet that I use to heat tortillas which worked out great for these - I highly recommend getting one or a flat iron for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Shelton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I had no lard and used 4 tbsp of softened margarine instead. I followed the rest of the recipe as written and came out with a wonderful dough. It was a tiny bit sticky as I was first kneading but, as soon as I placed it on a floured surface and began kneading then it was fine. Rolling it out was fine for me. I did not separate into individual balls...I rolled out big pieces and then took a large sized salad/soup bowl to make the circles which helped in 2 ways. 1-the edges were clean and 2-after you cut around the bowl the tortilla itself "sticks" to the bowl so it keeps it's shape on the way to the pan. I also cooked mine in a pizza pan using a tiny bit of stick spray. They came out crisp and flavorful. I also added grated cheese into my dough because we were making quesadillas, and that was great. I am going to use the same dough tomorrow morning adding cinnamon sugar and icing and making breakfast tortillas. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I made the dough in the food processor. Easy dough to work with.The hardest part was getting them rolled out in a circle. Most of them came out rectangular. Next time I will remember to shake off the flour as it burned on to the pan. Despite all this they taste good and saved a trip to the store. I halved the recipe and got 8, 8" tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I've seen the review of this recipe and let me tell you something people. I'm from the North of Mexico close to where flour tortillas were orginated so I know what I'm talking about. You NEVER put margarine in flour tortillas. That is a BIG no! Lard is used in Mexico because shortening was a luxury overthere, but people that moved here in the U.S started using shortening. Shortening or Lard, salt, baking powder and HOT WATER is needed. If the water is not hard your tortillas are going to come out hard and ugly with not a good taste. You NEVER put flour tortillas in the refrigerator. If you do they will come out hard and you don't want that. These are flour tortillas not corn tortillas. You wrap them up in a kitchen servilleta, but you never wrap them up hot. You have to let them cool then wrap them. It is very important the amount you use to make the dough. Putting too much hot water will result in sticky ugly dough and will be useless. Putting too much shortening will result in dough that is greasy. I hope this helps you guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
My first attempt at making tortillas and I will never go back to store bought ones again. I used margarine, simply placed all dry items and margarine into a food processor and pulsed until mixed. Then added hot water slowly while machine was running, until it came together into a ball. Kneaded lightly and divided into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States