Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I have tried lots of tortilla recipes and this one hands down is one of the best! I made it as written with no changes, other than I halfed it. I used vegy oil and coconut oil both in other recipes before with "OK" results. I used lard this time (the amount is small). My opinion, it makes a HUGE difference in the texture of the tortillas...the ones I made last night were exactly like restaurant quality (soft, pliable with good taste). Few helpful things: 1) used very warm water, adding a little at a time, (ended up using less than the recipe called for); 2) after forming into balls, covered the bowl with a damp towel secured on top by a plate to keep the moisture in, and let the dough rest about 15 min (30 would've probably been better); 3) when rolling out the tortillas, use only a VERY light dusting of flour (you don't want to put too much flour back into your tortillas or they tend to be a little stiff), I turned the dough a couple of times when rolling out to start the form of the tortilla, then turned my body and rolling pin to finish out the final shape; 4) I used a Tfal skillet (didn't have a cast iron) on med/hi, cooked 25 sec/flipped, cooked 25 sec/flipped, cooked 10 sec more, then moved tortilla to a damp kitchen towel covered plate (place the warm tortilla between the folds of the towel) then cover the plate and towel with a large bowl to hold in the heat and moisture (this in lieu of a tortilla warmer container). Huge hit! Stored leftovers in fridge in ziploc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Realized I ran out of tortillas after my husband took the car. Just made these with margarine as that is all I had in the house and the ONLY problem I have is the fact that I don't think my son will EVER settle for store bought again! Can't wait to try it with lard, I bet they will be out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lee Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Thanks for sharing this great recipe, definitely keeping this in my kitchen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Simple, easy and WAY better than store bought. Hubby loved them. I was out and we wanted to make breakfast burritos for dinner. I looked up the recipe, had the ingredients and it didn't take anytime at all. I made the whole recipe and have some stored in the fridge. I did not have lard, had a stick of vegetable shortening but didn't want to use it because of all the hydrogenated garbage in it, so I used organic butter (about 2 1/2 tablespoons) in the recipe. It turned out fine. Organic flour, sea salt, aluminum free baking powder and organic butter. Now those are ingredients I can live with and much healthier and tastier than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Not enough lard - tortillas were too brittle and thick, not soft and thin as they should be. Also, hot water should been used when mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I definitely love this recipe, I'm navajo and I have no idea how to make bread. I made this for the first time today and it came out perfect... Thank You so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaManda A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I really like this recipe. It has good bones to definitely make it your own.The texture came out perfect but it tasted a little bland. Definitely going to try adding more salt ( 1 1/2 teaspoons) next time. I used margarine instead of lard and the taste difference is not so much different. Overall, success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette Lujano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by copes006
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
A quick and easy way to make delicious tortillas. The family loved them. I halved the recipe: 1/2 flour and 1/2 whole wheat. The flour half tasted better and had a lighter texture. Whole wheat was okay if you don't mind the grittiness. I will be using this recipe again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Absolutely perfect! I also cut the recipe in half and I used coconut oil instead of lard (same amount). I cooked these in my tortilla press and they were amazing, and had that thin yet slightly stretchy feel. Much better than the recipe that came with the press!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Frisby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Great recipe! I replaced the lard with butter and they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katya D'Entremont

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 713) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States