Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I made half the recipe, resulting in 12 tortillas. To save a little time, I made them in the food processor. Of course, the most time is in rolling them out. They came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
These were FANTASTIC! I decided to grill carne asada for dinner but didn't have any tortillas, and since I'm 20 miles from town I had no choice but to try to make my own. After reading reviews of several recipes I decided to try this one. I used organic AP flour and used lard from a heritage breed, organically raised hog we recently had butchered. I used about a half tablespoon more lard than called for (there was a small amount left in the jar so I just decided to use it all). I also used hot water as some reviewers suggested. I had to dust with quite a bit of flour while rolling because the dough was somewhat sticky. I ended up rolling them between parchment paper and that made it much easier. These tortillas were absolutely addictive! We could not stop eating them. Even when dinner was over and everyone was stuffed we kept tearing off small pieces and sopping up the meat juices and beans with them. I will never buy store bought tortillas again. These were as easy as they were delicious. Truly awesome recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I made the mistake of not rolling them out thin enough. It makes a big difference. And I sub'd shortening for lard, and even added a bit of margarine after the fact. I'm sure these would have been better with the lard but they were a good starting point for me. I recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
We have used this recipe a number of times. I use my kitchen aide to mix it up and knead it. Then I roll in small balls and use my tortilla press. Super easy and super tasty! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Easy as pie. I think I put too much flour in (didn't have sifter). Felt a little dense. Recommend use a little more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
i used margarine instead of lard and they were perfect. light, chewy, and soft. i used some and froze the rest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I've made this twice and each time it's better. :-) Thank you for all the reviews because without them, I wouldn't have tried it. I like to read them first before trying any recipe and even when negative, I learn from those so I won't make the same mistakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Have to agree with melodyanne. This recipe does need more lard but I found 4 Tbsp to be sufficient. It also works very well with expellar pressed coconut oil though you might want to add a little extra salt since you loose some flavor from the lard. Also, as others have said if you try to get 24 out of this they will be tiny. I get about a dozen nice big tortillas out of this recipe. One more point, let the dough rest for at least 30 minutes to make it easier to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
NEVER buying store bought tortillas EVER again. Made half the recipe, exactly as it is written and cooked my tortillas in a plain, non-stick skillet. Needed 8 enchilada sized tortillas for a recipe, so that was all I made out of half the recipe. Cooked first side 10-17 seconds and the second side 6-10 seconds. These are delicious!! Just make them- you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I substituted butter for lard and whole wheat flour for the a-p (b/c that's all I had) and it worked just fine! I halved the recipe and maybe I didn't roll the tortillas out flat enough, but was only able to get 8 tortillas out of 2 cups of flour. I would definitely make this again! Thank-you LaDonna for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 660) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States