Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
As is, the recipe is okay. 2 TBSP of lard did not get my very far with the water...The snap back on the dough was to strong to roll out as far as I needed with having to make 24 count. Plus there was so little lard, that it never reached that "fine cornmeal" state. A 2nd batch was in order. It took at least 4 TBSP of lard and another 1/2tsp of salt as well. Once I did that, it turned out similar to a recipe my mom used to make. BEST TIP I can tell you on how to get equal amount of dough pieces on a recipes such as this is: weigh you dough prior to cutting and proportioning out. Once the dough is weighed divide out how many you need to make this recipe work to serving size. My dough weighed 36oz / 24= 1.5oz per portion. Will make again with my adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
My grandmother is Mexican and is notorious for her homemade tortillas and she has tried teaching me how to carry on this traditional dish; my problem was there was never any measurements and was all done by feel and my tortillas just never met up to my grandmothers standards, until I made this recipe!! It tasted just like grandmothers if not better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Used shortening instead of lard (we're vegetarian!)- they came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I discovered this recipe yesterday, and I made it last night for a BBQ and this morning for breakfast tacos. Coming from Texas, and now living in the Netherlands, this recipe has eliminated our family's cravings for good tortillas! I used warm water and a bit more fat(margarine) and voilà- the tortillas came out light, fluffy and very pliable, not at all like the tortillas you find here in the store. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
My husbands mother use to make the most outstanding flour tortillas she passed away long ago, I lost most of my recipes I had from her. she never measured anything but I got to a point I could make them pretty darn good. So many years have passed since even attempting to make flour tortillas. When I saw this recipe with the lard I knew it was the same. Thank you for sharing. I will be making soon and just know they will be wonderful. Just reading some other comments interesting how many people still use margarine People (margarine is horrible for you it will kill faster than the small amount of lard used) that being said for all the folks using Crisco shortening try the lard just once to see the difference. Also I am a weight watcher and at 24 tortillas with no changes is 2 points each
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Yes I have tried is really good my family like it very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
A very easy recipe and so much better than anything you can buy at the store! I used Crisco Butter flavor as what I already had. Dough is very easy to mix and roll out. Thank you so much for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Recipe is perfect. Once I figured out how to use my press it even worked better for me!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Loved it! I used butter instead of lard though but they turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renate Topsakal Kniep

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hoofddorp, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Will never go back to store bought again! I can't wait to have company over for "Mexican night" so we can Wow them with these! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 708) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States