Homemade Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Whoever said you can sub margarine for the lard.. Do not listen to that person. Don't do it. I tried it and I ended up with sticky vomit looking dough. Threw it away. I will try it again but follow it to the T. I'm gonna stay at 3 stars for now, but will update again once I follow it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I think this recipe is a good starting point. They tasted good and my kids liked them, but I was disappointed in the texture. It wasn't as chewy, soft, or rollable as I was expecting. It was on the harder side as well. Usually during the cooking process, the tortilla bubbles up as it fills with steam, but that didn't happen with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dutch Baby
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
I have tried and failed to make flour tortillas several times. This recipe finally made the grade! I grew up in a home where my grandmother made tortillas almost every day. Like many ladies of her generation, she cooked by using a little of this with a little of that, roll it like this and pat it like that. As many times as I watched this process I never quite got the knack. The search is over. I only changed a couple of things. The first was that I used Crisco shortening like my grandmother. For the first batch of tortillas I used exactly two tablespoons. The texture of the dough was just a tiny bit off. The next time, I measured two HEAPING tablespoons of the shortening and this was just right. My husband loved the first batch but I thought they were a little tough. the next time I was careful to not over knead or over handle the dough. After I kneaded the dough into a big ball I let it rest in the bowl under a clean damp dishtowel for about ten minutes while the comal heated up. After resting, I formed the dough into balls and rolled them out on my floured board. They came out thin, pliable and delicious! A hit with the family for sure! Since I made two dozen, we heated up them up the next day for burritos. Now to work on making perfect circles every time, and not the map of Texas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutch Baby

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
I used everything but the lard and didn't use butter or margarine either (highly overrated). They don't need it they came out great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Marie G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Even the vegetarian (cold butter instead of lard) version is excellent. I won't buy pre-made tortillas again! I took great care to work the butter into the flour mixture and it paid off nicely. These are very easy to roll out and need to be thin, thin, thin. They really puff up so make a full 24 out of this recipe or they'll be too thick. I stacked them in a cotton towel as I cooked them, then covered it all with plastic wrap for the day. They stayed moist enough to easily handle. We piled on toppings and cooked over the grill as tostadas. They got a little crispy and were delicious! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I believe that this recipe is a fabulously perfect and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaden Alcocer
Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
yes this an easy go to recipe that I use on a regular basis ---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia Kahn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Easy, nice taste & quick! Be sure to do the moist towel wrapped around each (I used moist paper towels) or they will get hard very quickly. I didn't change a thing about the recipe & I think it is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrairieChicken

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kindersley, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I needed much more lard to get the crumble called for, and I had to add more water to get the dough to ball up. That being said.. After I realized I was rolling the dough too thick ( they need to be paper thin) I started getting some really nice tortillas. My husband said they were much better than the store bought ones for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Kimbler
Living In: Cuenca, Azuay, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I have made this multiple times. I love the recipe. ...however I omit the baking powder and use warm water. The baking powder seems to leaven the tortillas to much. The warm water helps the dough come together better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 722) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States