Homemade Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Love this recipe because its totally simple. I add a bit more tomato sauce and water though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Excellent and fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I will never buy canned enchilada sauce again! I modified the recipe a bit reducing the sugar in half and I used coconut sugar instead of brown sugar. I added a couple dashes of red pepper. Family raved about it and my son's girlfriend got up for seconds which she never does. Score!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Used to make turkey enchiladas after thanksgiving. Used fresh garlic and onions, omitted corresponding powders. 4 of the 4 who had them for dinner asked for them again at Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Very good sauce, easy to make in a few minutes. I also agree with others, if you make it often you can add the spices that appeal to your taste. Adding a little Chipotle Adobo sauce adds a bit more flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Magnus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Easy and delicious - though I left out the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I tried this one night with dinner. The next day I cooked down a bushel of tomatoes and made enough to freeze 4 quarts for future use. I substituted corn starch for the flour so my daughter in law can have it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time today and as is was great. Looks great and tastes great, what more could one ask for. Better than store bought, for my taste it was very good. Because I saw one other similar recipe on this site and only cause I had them on hand I added 1tsp of Agave and instead of 2 tbs of Chile powder used 1 tbs and 1 tbs of Ancho Chile powder. Either way I loved it can't wait till dinner time to see thumbs up from the family---- :) Thanks for a wonderful recipe. Will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
We love this sauce!!! I could drink it with a straw. I do use extra cumin, garlic and onion because we like those flavors and I do for all recipes that call for them. I accidentally put some cinnamon in last time and my hubby loved it. Gave it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Lohr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Living In: Hooversville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I'll never use canned enchilada sauce again! Other than grinding your own dried chilis, it couldn't taste more authentic, and who has the time for all that when chili powder is so readily available. I made exactly as written and tasted first before adjusting seasoning. In the end I did choose to double the amount of cumin, onion powder and garlic powder as some other reviewers suggested for a little more warmth and stronger flavor. Still, as written it was good, and probably perfect for the average person who doesn't like things as spicy or intense. I personally liked the hint of sweetness from the brown sugar and didn't think it too sweet. Will use again and again from now on. Thx to Mary Kate for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States