Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Woof! Dewoofsious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Actually it IS a very healthy recipe. No where does it say this is all your dog can eat. Like humans, we need different foods.I just spent hours this morning researching healthy foods to feed dogs. This one pretty much sums it up. Again, not the ONLY thing to feed your pet. But this won't hurt them either. It may be a little too much garlic.....a little garlic is very good, but not a lot. Vegetables are great but need to be pureed for the dog to be able to digest them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
801 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I have to say that this is what I have been feeding my guys for about a year, and thankfully you are using a complex slow burning carbohydrate with the potential for a lower glycemic impact. My one guy was a rescue and he is diabetic and allergic to almost every dog food there is. I will say that the best veggies to use are chopped broccoli and various other chopped versions. If I know what will happen with my guys they will chuck the other veggies on the floor first then go back so I chop even the most basic veggies. Thanks for the great recipe. I never though to add the seasoning till now n they both love me more for the garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
My dog loved this! I made very few changes. Instead of mixed veggies I used a couple of carrots that I grated and a half a bag of frozen french cut green beans that I minced. I used 1/2 tsp garlic powder and added 1 tbsp milk. I boiled everything together uncovered until it nearly all the moisture was out. I also added about 1/2 cup of leftover shredded chicken from our dinner last night! I plan to make this often and change up the ingredients along with adding some bone meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missyf107

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I think it is very smart, espescially when your dog dosent want to eat its own food! My dog Copper gobbeled it down in 5 seconds and injoyed it so much! Thank you red girl! P.s. my dog is a cockapoo so hes a little thing.Thanks, Yvonne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I made this for all four of my dogs and they loved it. It made a big hit with them. Thank you for sharing the recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I eat this almost every day and am healthy as a horse. All in the neighborhood are jealous that my owner feeds me this instead of that canned . Go make yourself something healthy, but keep feeding me this. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWUER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is a great, easy to cook recipe. Turkey is a favorite of his (and one of the only meats that doesn't upset his stomach), so I was very excited to see it as one of the main ingredients. I have a little 8lb yorkie, so I didn't include the veggies in the recipe, instead I mixed some jarred baby food veggies in with each serving. Obviously this isn't economical or necessary for large dogs though. I don't mean to add too many variations to an already wonderful recipe, but the 2nd time I made it, I used some chicken broth in place of the water to add a bit more flavor. Thank you to redgirl, this recipe has been very useful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I tasted this and it's delicious. No wonder my two dogs scarfed it down. I used my potato masher to break up the ground turkey in the liquid. I substituted rice milk for some of the water because the brand I buy has calcium in it. I also added eggs with omega-3 and ground the egg shells and added them. Next time I make it, I will vary the veggies as broccoli can irritate a dog's stomach. Broccoli is good for dogs as long as they don't eat very much at one time. I have read that broccoli should not be more than 10% of their daily food. I don't expect this one recipe to be all the nutrition my dogs need. But it is an easy recipe with lots of good nutrition. My two dogs are Bichons so this makes a lot of food for them. I put it in the freezer in small containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
my finicky miniature dachshund LOVES this recipe. thank you. this is a great base to start from and i look forward to learning more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States