Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Woof! Dewoofsious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Actually it IS a very healthy recipe. No where does it say this is all your dog can eat. Like humans, we need different foods.I just spent hours this morning researching healthy foods to feed dogs. This one pretty much sums it up. Again, not the ONLY thing to feed your pet. But this won't hurt them either. It may be a little too much garlic.....a little garlic is very good, but not a lot. Vegetables are great but need to be pureed for the dog to be able to digest them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
799 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
just wanted to make a comment. I am a "natural" feeder as well and make all my own foods. One VERY important thing to remember here is dogs do not chew their food 100 times before swallowing, therefore, it is extremely important to ensure veggies have been ground fine to ensure nutrients can be absorbed by their bodies. When swallowed in whole form, nutrients are locked in and will not release. Also important to note many nutrients, minerals and vitamins come from different sources, therefore ensuring you alternate between ground and root vegetables, adding ground/powdered egg shells for calcium and different oils for the omega fatty acids is a must. Our dogs may look great now, but it is when they hit their older years we will see the affects of what we fed now. Also, soft foods will not promote healthy gums and teeth. Therefore, feeding RAW (and I stress RAW) meating bones are also mandatory. Cooked bones splinter. Raw bones are what wolves and coyotes have been feeding from for thousands of years. Good luck! It is well worth the research and effort to know your dog is getting only the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2732 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I have a dachshund who has Cushing's and is also gluten intolerant so this is great due to the brown rice. I don't add the rosemary but do add a 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. turmeric since it is a natural anti-inflammatory. I agree with other reviewers, its a good idea to puree your veggies - also real important to give some natural uncooked bones for healthy teeth and gums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I think this is a great basic recipe to add to. I ususally double this recipe and make the following changes. First I vary the meat each week, sometimes turkey, chicken, beef and occasionally some liver added. I used 2 1/2 pounds of meat which is just a little more than the recipe calls for, but I also add 6 beaten eggs which I whirl into the boiling mix as it cooks. I think variety is very important so I also change grains with each week. I have used lentils, barley, brown rice or even oatmeal. Make sure your garlic is cooked as raw garlic can make your dog sick, and never use onions as a vegetable as onions make them sick as well. I use a variety of vegetables and mix and match them in each batch. I don't use the gassy veggies like brocoli or cauliflower as my guys have tender tummies and all the gas just wouldn't be good. I do use a mix of fresh and frozen veggies usually carrots, peas, green beans and squash. It is very important to cook your grains well and also to whirl the veggies up in the blender since dogs have short intestinal tracks and can not digest these carbohydrates easily and won't get the nutrition that they need from them if they are left whole. Make sure they get their calcium! I save all my egg shells and rinse them out. I bake them for 10 minutes in a 300 degree oven to get them nice and brittle, then blend them until they are powder. I put a spoon of eggshell powder and a spoon of Omega supplement on each feeding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1755 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I have to say that this is what I have been feeding my guys for about a year, and thankfully you are using a complex slow burning carbohydrate with the potential for a lower glycemic impact. My one guy was a rescue and he is diabetic and allergic to almost every dog food there is. I will say that the best veggies to use are chopped broccoli and various other chopped versions. If I know what will happen with my guys they will chuck the other veggies on the floor first then go back so I chop even the most basic veggies. Thanks for the great recipe. I never though to add the seasoning till now n they both love me more for the garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I made this for all four of my dogs and they loved it. It made a big hit with them. Thank you for sharing the recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I think it is very smart, espescially when your dog dosent want to eat its own food! My dog Copper gobbeled it down in 5 seconds and injoyed it so much! Thank you red girl! P.s. my dog is a cockapoo so hes a little thing.Thanks, Yvonne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I eat this almost every day and am healthy as a horse. All in the neighborhood are jealous that my owner feeds me this instead of that canned . Go make yourself something healthy, but keep feeding me this. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWUER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Everybody should read Louries comment... there is not enough in this to make it worth doing. think Whole Foods, Natural foods~I pressure cook the entire turkey, less visibal fat. and save the liver for later addition. Add squash as a filler, think barley to lower calories (also not digestable~~like corn the next day :).) fills them up. Pumpkin is a great. Like you think color. Dogs eat not only meat, but the inside of the intestines too!...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilona

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northridge, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States