Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I just started making my Rat Terrier his dog food and he's been healthy ever since. I put a couple boneless chicken breasts, a lb of baby carrots in a slow cooker w/ a lot of water and cook all day. The last hour I add frozen green peas and brown and white rice. (No seasonings, herbs, or spices). When it's done it's like Chicken Stew. I freeze individual servings and remove from freezer daily. My dog loves it. It's easy for me too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
As with most people, I am getting more concerned with the quality of store bought food even if you buy high quality. I make something like this recipe for my dogs every week. I buy chicken legs on sale. Bake them, remove all meat. Make broth from bones and skin. Add finely chopped chicken meat, sweet potatoes and carrots to broth. Cook rice in broth. I give them half store bought food and half chicken and rice for each meal. The dogs love it and it is healthier than 100% store bought food. If I knew I could give them all the nutrients they needed in homemade food, I would totally eliminate store bought food and dog treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
My dog loved it. I followed lemontreestudios advice as well left in comments. I joined this site just for this recipe I wonder what else is on here for me and my dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
My senior pooch loves this recipe (with a few additions). She is a good eater, but has an allergy to beef that gives her seizures. She adores all of the beta carotene veggies... Pumpkin, carrots, sweet potatoes, squash... So I add a can of mashed sweet potatoes or pumpkin, blended veggies, and a teaspoon of garlic powder ground with a teaspoon of rosemary. I brown either ground turkey or chicken, use 1 cup brown rice and 1 cup oatmeal, 2 chicken bouillon cubes. But here's the kicker, I put that all in my slow cooker with the 6 cups of water, on low, before bed.... in the morning I turn it up to high for 1/2 hour or so and add two eggs and eggshells as described by other reviewers. Voila! Dog food for breakfast! I just have to keep my husband out of it. He he he
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
My pup absolutely loves this recipe! I certainly don't want to overfeed her, but she eats every bit I put in front of her. Obviously she loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lgillam
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I love this recipe as a basic recipe. I've learned to use as lean as meat as possible. She (Leila, a chihuahua/dachsund mix), was vomiting solid hard kibble like chunks that reminded me of a piece of meat and fat. After realizing what it was, I stopped the cheap ground beef and am now buying the leaner beef or turkey. I vary the veggies just a bit too using green beans and carrots and sometimes spinach or other leafy greens. Blending them in the blender with a little water provides a minced texture that makes it easier for them to get the full nutritional value and digest. Then I add it to the meat and fiber; which I boil first. I also mix up the fiber by using brown rice and white mixed or lentils. Another idea for added protein is to add 2-3 eggs directly in the boiling water allowing them to cook the last few minutes. The only thing I'm really stuck on is getting enough calcium. The dark greens help a little, but I think she needs more. My cousin/veterinarian said to use calcium supplements. Anything for our canine companians right??? And that's my 2 cents....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is a great basic recipie and that is what I have been looking for to know portions to add of each ingredient! Since I have 2 dogs, one eating 4 C a day and the other eating 2 C a day, I tripled this recipe and froze what I would not use in 3 days. I also cook seperate and add Yams finely broken up. I also add just before feeding a scoop of Ultimate Canine Health Formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
My dogs love it! I added garlic powder, fat free cottage cheese and beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I make something similar to this, however, I use chicken livers instead. I boil the livers and chop them finely and use a rice steamer for the rice. Once the rice is done, I add in the frozen peas and carrots and let them warm through. I mix the liver, rice, veggies and broth together. Once cooled I put them in freezer bags and freeze until I need it for the pups. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Rios-Stroud

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
So far so good ! I have a question, what is the rosemary for ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States