Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I some times wonder what has happen to common sense in people. Most people do feed their dog dry food (kibble) which will include various vitamins and good nutrition. I know my little dog eats mostly kibble that contains all the nutrients he really needs. However, he does eat wet food each day and it's mostly what I cook for him. He is a small maltese and he doesn't eat much. He does not like the can foods on the market and many of the can/wet foods in stores, are junk. I think as long as you're feeding your dog a healthy kibble daily and topping with a little wet food such as this recipe, your dog will be fine. I don't add garlic, tomatoes, rosemary and the various spices when I cook foods for my dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
my dog loved this recipe...i cooked it twice as long as it said because the water needed to absorb into the rice...i too use different meats...turkey, chicken, or fish and for veggies my dog likes sweet potatoes, carrots, and his favorite is pumpkin...i did notice that when i tried peas , he picked them out and put them in a neat little pile beside his bowl..lol..i have been making homemade dog food for years with a recipe similar to this one, but this is so much easier...my vet recommended i add a tbsp of plain fat free yogurt or cottage cheese to make sure he gets the calcium he needs, so i add that to each serving right before i feed him...thanks for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I have a very fussy Poochon he loves tinned food but it made his breath & coat smell awful, he will eat raw meat but needs other nutrients. I found this recipe today & tried it straight away using chicken breast & stock, white rice, cauliflower leaves, green beans, peas & a touch of herbs, he absolutely loved it & kept going back to lick the bowl. I will keep making this now experimenting with different veg & meat & adding supplements. Never thought I'd see the day when Oscar would eat veg & enjoy them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I have two min. poodles, both have some food allergies and the younger one is a VERY picky eater. I've been going nuts trying to find foods that meet her allergy criteria that she will actually eat. Not any more. Both dogs really love this food. After a few days my dog usually gets bored with any food, but not this time. She really loves it and eats everything in her bowl. I do put a spoonful of full fat yogurt on their food as well and I do augment the homemade food with some commercial food as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I think this is a great recipe. But I have a tip. If you own a pressure cooker you can take the chicken bones that the meat was deboned from and cook for about 45 minutes to 60 minutes in the pressure cooker with the broth water from the chicken you cooked until you can crush between you fingers. The bones will be really soft and put in blender and blend into a liquid. This way you get all the marrow and the calcium. Mix some of it in the dog food . gives great flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Both of my dogs loved it, but it gave my Great Dane heartburn. It smelled really bad, but that was likely just the homemade bone broth I used in place of chicken broth and it would be well worth the smell if my dog could digest it better. I would recommend checking with your vet before changing to homemade dog food, I plan to before I try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
easy to make ! I mix it with his dry food he loves it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
My very fussy 12 yo shih tzu LOVED it and has had so much more energy. I add an egg and cottage cheese (for calcium) and then place in food processor as she has not many teeth left. I keep in fridge and warm to room temp before feeding. So thankful to find a palatable recipe for her. I change up the meat for variety and once a week include organ meats for the iron. I have been buying ridiculously expensive tin foods from my vet and still had to coax her to eat. Not with this food she willingly gobbles it up and is healthier then she has ever been and I am spending less. A win-win. Thank you for this recipe redgirl !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
An extra note: Rosemary is widely regarded by herbalists as a natural stimulant, fine for most dogs, it is often suggested that it should not be given to epileptic dogs as it may increase the incidence or severity of seizures. Kelp would be a great addition as well as egg and the shells ground up for "natural" calcium not chemical. I also found dogs with colitis (greenish poop) have a hard time with the rice so I have been feeding one of my girls a 50/50 mixture of yellow sweet potato (not yam) and regular potato. I have been making my own dogs food as well and I think variey is also the best choice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 74-SWEDISH

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I just made this dog food and let my dog try a little. She seems like and ate them all. Like some people said I did blend all the vegi. One of the reason is my dog is old she is almost 12. I am glad that I found this site and I think I will keep continue to made this dog food for my girl. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States