Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This is a good recipe and a version of what I fed my dog. I used white rice, I use white and brown rice for the family as well. I didn't add the rosemary or other herbs but it's a great idea. My dobie lived 16 years and I'm convinced it was due to taking her off conventional dog food. I don't think y'all need to be such sticklers just get them off the company garbage. Like I said she lived to be 16 almost unheard of for a large Doberman Dog. Sabrina 1997 to May 22, 2013. I'm still grieving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I love making dog food for my pets. I have used basically this recipe baked not boiled. However, I refuse to add garlic. Garlic is toxic to dogs as is onion. Give any dog enough garlic, especially on a daily basis, it will kill them. I give a prescription tablet for fleas from my vet to my dogs. My vet said the food is healthy and DO NOT EVER GIVE A DOG GARLIC! three stars because of the garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agadoelleon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I have tried this recipe also I love it and my dog loves it. I feed him the raw and dry also. I changed a couple of things. I took 12 eggs blended them up with shell. I pureed two packs of mixed frozen vegetables. I also added some liver and gizzards which I pureed.I used lentils instead or rice its healthier. I added more ground meat i use 2 lbs of ground meat. I also added 2 cups of hulled hemp seed. Hemp seed is wonderful for humans and dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
this is a good basic recipe and feed my 14mth old choco lab this as his mai diet however i do add eggs in the shell blended with frozen blueberries and frozen spinach i use long grain white rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
The garlic is not harmful in right amount for your dog. It helps reduce parasites, inflammation and boost immune system. Someone asked about the Rosemary. It is in the herbal anti-inflammatory (Zyflammend) I give my dog, so it has anti-inflammatory properties. Adding the eggshells, yogurt and a little pumpkin can improve the nutrition of this great-tasting recipe (yes, I tried it). Although I was too lazy this time, boiling a whole chicken for added nutrition is also a good idea. Marcy loves her new food- and it cost less than ALPO canned food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I have Yorkies so picky they would go hungry several days rather than eat dry kibble dog food. I tried lots of other remedies, but this recipe did the trick! I added sweet potato and spinach to on batch! The pickiest one cleans his bowl every time. I'm anxious to know the weight he ha gained. I highly recommend this as it got them to eat the kibble too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This is the first time making food for my dogs. I have been using store bought food and this year they both have been breaking out pretty badly that I have been having to give them benadryl. My parents both suggested that I start making their food and I found this recipe to try. The only thing that I added to this recipe was some beaten eggs for the added calcium. I also used chicken livers instead of the ground turkey for the iron content. it is cooling right now and my dogs can't wait to try it; they have been following me around into the kitchen because they smell food. My husband even said that if the dogs won't at it that he would because it smelled good. I sure hope this works out much better for my dogs because I feel bad for them with all of the itchy bumps they have developed. All in all, this was a very easy recipe to make and smells very good. Right now it is a little soupy but I hope that as it cools some of the water will be absorbed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This is amazing! I have a little Chihuahua that has refused to eat dog food ever since I adopted her. The only thing she would ever eat was scraps from human food, or few select treats. I tried this out and SHE LOVES IT!!!! I have never seen her eat like this before and has so much more energy now! To anyone with a dog that is a finicky eater, I recommend trying this out!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This recipe lacks calcium and vitamin D, both nutritional requirements for dogs. It is also deficient in canine vitamin E requirements. A dog's digestive tract is very short, and the vegetables in this recipe should be ground in order for the dog to get the full nutritional benefit of the vegetables. Current thinking in canine nutrition is similar to people, in that dogs also benefit from DHA, which is in their mother's milk. Fish and fish oil are good sources of this. I would add some safflower oil, for vitamin E to this recipe, and some salmon oil for omega 3 fats and DHA. Additionally, some sardines would provide vitamin D. Some cottage cheese and/or yogurt would provide calcium. Another option for calcium would be bone meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Ok, so i cooked this recipe. I added some Natural omega-3 fish oil. I also added some dog vitamins to it to help balance it out and not have to feed it to him later in the day. I am using fresh zucchini and squash along with a banana. I put a tablespoon of peanut butter, and some peas in it. I added parsley to help with his breath. Just to comment on other posts, you should never add GARLIC of any kind to your dogs food, it is very bad for them and is a poison to them. It causes gastrointestinal problems, and red blood cell damage can occur as a result of feeding garlic to pets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States