Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This is a good base. I make it with different meat for each batch. Once I will use lean ground beef, another time I will some kind of fish (easy to research whats good for your pup) and then another time Ill use turkey or chicken. I also add fruit like blueberrys and apples I also add egg, spinach other fresh veggies I just don't use frozen produce much). All it takes is a bit of research to see what you should and shouldn't add to this great start! I can say since Ive started using this recipe, my dog who was on a special diet, still had skin problems, and was developing other allergies has completely started healing. Her skin is getting better her health issues are going away, small bumps and other things are all healing. I also fed a top brand pet food..so goes to show....good, all the way around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentone, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I would change a few things because this is not really a balanced diet as it lacks calcium. I vary the protein source each week and add calcium, yogurt or cottage cheese, (or make sure your giving a good multi vitamin). I also add spinach and/or apples on occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I have added eggs and ground up the shells for the calcium but I am concerned about the other nutrients my dogs are missing. I switch out the meats, using hamburger, leftover chicken. chicken livers (they like this the best but I don't want to give them too much) as well as cheap canned tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I some times wonder what has happen to common sense in people. Most people do feed their dog dry food (kibble) which will include various vitamins and good nutrition. I know my little dog eats mostly kibble that contains all the nutrients he really needs. However, he does eat wet food each day and it's mostly what I cook for him. He is a small maltese and he doesn't eat much. He does not like the can foods on the market and many of the can/wet foods in stores, are junk. I think as long as you're feeding your dog a healthy kibble daily and topping with a little wet food such as this recipe, your dog will be fine. I don't add garlic, tomatoes, rosemary and the various spices when I cook foods for my dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
my dog loved this recipe...i cooked it twice as long as it said because the water needed to absorb into the rice...i too use different meats...turkey, chicken, or fish and for veggies my dog likes sweet potatoes, carrots, and his favorite is pumpkin...i did notice that when i tried peas , he picked them out and put them in a neat little pile beside his bowl..lol..i have been making homemade dog food for years with a recipe similar to this one, but this is so much easier...my vet recommended i add a tbsp of plain fat free yogurt or cottage cheese to make sure he gets the calcium he needs, so i add that to each serving right before i feed him...thanks for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin LeClerc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I have a very fussy Poochon he loves tinned food but it made his breath & coat smell awful, he will eat raw meat but needs other nutrients. I found this recipe today & tried it straight away using chicken breast & stock, white rice, cauliflower leaves, green beans, peas & a touch of herbs, he absolutely loved it & kept going back to lick the bowl. I will keep making this now experimenting with different veg & meat & adding supplements. Never thought I'd see the day when Oscar would eat veg & enjoy them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I have two min. poodles, both have some food allergies and the younger one is a VERY picky eater. I've been going nuts trying to find foods that meet her allergy criteria that she will actually eat. Not any more. Both dogs really love this food. After a few days my dog usually gets bored with any food, but not this time. She really loves it and eats everything in her bowl. I do put a spoonful of full fat yogurt on their food as well and I do augment the homemade food with some commercial food as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I think this is a great recipe. But I have a tip. If you own a pressure cooker you can take the chicken bones that the meat was deboned from and cook for about 45 minutes to 60 minutes in the pressure cooker with the broth water from the chicken you cooked until you can crush between you fingers. The bones will be really soft and put in blender and blend into a liquid. This way you get all the marrow and the calcium. Mix some of it in the dog food . gives great flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Both of my dogs loved it, but it gave my Great Dane heartburn. It smelled really bad, but that was likely just the homemade bone broth I used in place of chicken broth and it would be well worth the smell if my dog could digest it better. I would recommend checking with your vet before changing to homemade dog food, I plan to before I try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
easy to make ! I mix it with his dry food he loves it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States