Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Changed the amount made.I used 4 lb of ground turkey and adjusted the other ingredients accordingly. My dogs love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I just made this today for my Golden. The only thing I modified: I used white rice instead of brown because lately research has shown it's easier for dogs to digest. One other thing I do for my homemade dog recipes is I boil rice in water with a few beef bouillon cubes (low sodium) just for added flavor. I feel this recipe needed it because it seemed a little carb heavy. Either way, great recipe, and I add a hard boiled egg (with shell) per day. One thing-I doubled the recipe and somehow only got 12 cups...not sure how that happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tobi Camilli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I'm basing my rating on ease of creation and how much my Jake likes it. I read some of the other comments and altered the recipe slightly by adding chicken stock right at the point where the water had all been absorbed so that it maintained the flavor of the stock without it evaporing off too much. I used some frozen mixed veggies that I boiled just to soften up and then chopped them in my little chopper so they weren't so bulky and would be easier to digest. Jake looks happier and seems perkier than with the crummy store bought canned food, although this is 3 times the cost. I'm happy knowing what he's eating and that he's happy to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I think this is a great recipe for my dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Machelle
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Just made this for my Great Dane and Chow puppies & they loved it!! They are currently passed out on the tile with full bellies:)) I've really been wanting to try something like this because they both have such sensitive stomachs.. So I was thrilled to find this recipe. So I made a double batch and it cost me around $8 for everything, it made about 16 cups and I will be only feeding them each 2 cups a day. So it should last me for 4 days. Let me stop there and let you all know how amazing that is considering the prices of dog food, if you get the good brands -I've tried them all and spent $$$$ on stuff that just didnt agree with my pups stomachs. Anyhow I did decide to change a few things, I used 2 lbs of ground turkey and 2cups of fresh carrots, squash, and peas mix, 6 lg eggs, and 4 cups of rice and the rosemary that the original recipe included, I did find that next time I will probably cook it all separate to save time and then combine them after. Thanks again for the recipe, definitely will be feeding my babies homemade food from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
TABBY LOVES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
My dogs love this food! I sometimes add more veggies, whatever I have on hand. Sometimes I switch the meat and use chicken thighs which I cook and then remove the bones. I then add the thigh meat back into the broth, add the brown rice cooking again until the rice is done then stir in finely chopped veggies. My dogs are also supplemented with Greek yogurt daily, and raw beef marrow bones a few times a week for additional benefits. This recipe should not be the only food that a dog eats. They need a variety of things like we do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Both my Multipoo and my Chow/Terrier love this dog food. It is extremely healthy and tastes good too. Humans should eat this well. What I like about it is you can hide liquid vitamins, other supplements or Rx as prescribed by the Vet. The rosemary is strong and can mask the smell some what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This recipe is good base for home made dog food. It is is to tweak for the needs of different dogs or according to veterinarian recommendations. One thing that puzzled me was why the rosemary until I made it with out. It's to cover the odd smell of boiling meat. I also change around the meat and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Rube Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverview, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States