Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
My black lab/ golden mix has allergies and I decided to try a more natural approach to see if it would help. I use a pound of ground turkey, switch off between the white and brown rice and throw my veggies into the blender after cooking and before adding them to the mix. I mix her dry dog food with equal parts of the homemade and she loves it. Still gets her nutrients and crunch with a lot less scratching! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minz29
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Such an easy recipe and my dog loves it! Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
My non finicky but older pit bulls loved it. They do have sensivite stomachs and being in their senior years, makes me want to spoil them even more. I used basic recipe 1st time, but the next time I used chicken livers and breasts. 2nd time was livers and ground turkey. It didn't matter what the meat, they just loved it. (hope they love me just as much!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pampa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Dog loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 0000000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blythe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I was searching online for some home cooked healthy dog food. My Siberian Husky mix is now 13 years old, has bad hips (can't walk on tile anymore) and also has cancer. I was told she had 6 months to 1 year maybe longer depending on the tumor and how fast it grows/affects her. She is on a pain pill, anti inflammatory and also a liver supp. Up until about 5 months ago she was eating fine but then she would go days without eating the expensive holistic dog food I know she loves. So recently I started feeding her chicken, cheeseburgers, pizza, anything to get her to eat. This recipe gets her to eat without FAIL! She eats down the veggies too. I do think like other people have said that you can change it up a bit if you want to add egg shells or even a vitamin supp but this is a easy basic recipe that can be made in about 15 to 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Sullivan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Changed the amount made.I used 4 lb of ground turkey and adjusted the other ingredients accordingly. My dogs love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I just made this today for my Golden. The only thing I modified: I used white rice instead of brown because lately research has shown it's easier for dogs to digest. One other thing I do for my homemade dog recipes is I boil rice in water with a few beef bouillon cubes (low sodium) just for added flavor. I feel this recipe needed it because it seemed a little carb heavy. Either way, great recipe, and I add a hard boiled egg (with shell) per day. One thing-I doubled the recipe and somehow only got 12 cups...not sure how that happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tobi Camilli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I'm basing my rating on ease of creation and how much my Jake likes it. I read some of the other comments and altered the recipe slightly by adding chicken stock right at the point where the water had all been absorbed so that it maintained the flavor of the stock without it evaporing off too much. I used some frozen mixed veggies that I boiled just to soften up and then chopped them in my little chopper so they weren't so bulky and would be easier to digest. Jake looks happier and seems perkier than with the crummy store bought canned food, although this is 3 times the cost. I'm happy knowing what he's eating and that he's happy to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I think this is a great recipe for my dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States