Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Dog loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 0000000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blythe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I was searching online for some home cooked healthy dog food. My Siberian Husky mix is now 13 years old, has bad hips (can't walk on tile anymore) and also has cancer. I was told she had 6 months to 1 year maybe longer depending on the tumor and how fast it grows/affects her. She is on a pain pill, anti inflammatory and also a liver supp. Up until about 5 months ago she was eating fine but then she would go days without eating the expensive holistic dog food I know she loves. So recently I started feeding her chicken, cheeseburgers, pizza, anything to get her to eat. This recipe gets her to eat without FAIL! She eats down the veggies too. I do think like other people have said that you can change it up a bit if you want to add egg shells or even a vitamin supp but this is a easy basic recipe that can be made in about 15 to 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Sullivan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Changed the amount made.I used 4 lb of ground turkey and adjusted the other ingredients accordingly. My dogs love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I just made this today for my Golden. The only thing I modified: I used white rice instead of brown because lately research has shown it's easier for dogs to digest. One other thing I do for my homemade dog recipes is I boil rice in water with a few beef bouillon cubes (low sodium) just for added flavor. I feel this recipe needed it because it seemed a little carb heavy. Either way, great recipe, and I add a hard boiled egg (with shell) per day. One thing-I doubled the recipe and somehow only got 12 cups...not sure how that happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
While recently reading on a Chihuahua website many members were stating how ROSEMARY had been the cause of their dogs having seizures. Just wanted to inform. I have not made this recipe but had to rate, I logged on to research homemade dog food and thought it important to leave this comment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen Kaiser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tobi Camilli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I'm basing my rating on ease of creation and how much my Jake likes it. I read some of the other comments and altered the recipe slightly by adding chicken stock right at the point where the water had all been absorbed so that it maintained the flavor of the stock without it evaporing off too much. I used some frozen mixed veggies that I boiled just to soften up and then chopped them in my little chopper so they weren't so bulky and would be easier to digest. Jake looks happier and seems perkier than with the crummy store bought canned food, although this is 3 times the cost. I'm happy knowing what he's eating and that he's happy to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I think this is a great recipe for my dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Machelle
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Just made this for my Great Dane and Chow puppies & they loved it!! They are currently passed out on the tile with full bellies:)) I've really been wanting to try something like this because they both have such sensitive stomachs.. So I was thrilled to find this recipe. So I made a double batch and it cost me around $8 for everything, it made about 16 cups and I will be only feeding them each 2 cups a day. So it should last me for 4 days. Let me stop there and let you all know how amazing that is considering the prices of dog food, if you get the good brands -I've tried them all and spent $$$$ on stuff that just didnt agree with my pups stomachs. Anyhow I did decide to change a few things, I used 2 lbs of ground turkey and 2cups of fresh carrots, squash, and peas mix, 6 lg eggs, and 4 cups of rice and the rosemary that the original recipe included, I did find that next time I will probably cook it all separate to save time and then combine them after. Thanks again for the recipe, definitely will be feeding my babies homemade food from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
TABBY LOVES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States