Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
WARNING: Rice bran contains arsenic. Parboiled rice will have it as well. Read Consumer Reports article on arsenic in rice. Conclusion: man and beast should only eat it occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fishface42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Can I use fish??? (Boneless of course) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
brown rice is hard on digestive sys white is better , broccoli causes gas /farting !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Such an easy recipe and my dog loves it! Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
My non finicky but older pit bulls loved it. They do have sensivite stomachs and being in their senior years, makes me want to spoil them even more. I used basic recipe 1st time, but the next time I used chicken livers and breasts. 2nd time was livers and ground turkey. It didn't matter what the meat, they just loved it. (hope they love me just as much!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pampa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Dog loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 0000000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blythe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I was searching online for some home cooked healthy dog food. My Siberian Husky mix is now 13 years old, has bad hips (can't walk on tile anymore) and also has cancer. I was told she had 6 months to 1 year maybe longer depending on the tumor and how fast it grows/affects her. She is on a pain pill, anti inflammatory and also a liver supp. Up until about 5 months ago she was eating fine but then she would go days without eating the expensive holistic dog food I know she loves. So recently I started feeding her chicken, cheeseburgers, pizza, anything to get her to eat. This recipe gets her to eat without FAIL! She eats down the veggies too. I do think like other people have said that you can change it up a bit if you want to add egg shells or even a vitamin supp but this is a easy basic recipe that can be made in about 15 to 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Sullivan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Changed the amount made.I used 4 lb of ground turkey and adjusted the other ingredients accordingly. My dogs love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I just made this today for my Golden. The only thing I modified: I used white rice instead of brown because lately research has shown it's easier for dogs to digest. One other thing I do for my homemade dog recipes is I boil rice in water with a few beef bouillon cubes (low sodium) just for added flavor. I feel this recipe needed it because it seemed a little carb heavy. Either way, great recipe, and I add a hard boiled egg (with shell) per day. One thing-I doubled the recipe and somehow only got 12 cups...not sure how that happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tobi Camilli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States