Homemade Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Really don't car for this recipes as it can not be made with anything other then rice (tried making it with oatmeal) and unfortunately my baby girl can't have rice. So it turn out more like a mush
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Hilderbrand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paulita De Jesus
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Added ground beef, ground turkey an celery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulita De Jesus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Wilbur loves it, I change lean meats from turkey to beef to kangaroo. Mixing grains incl brown rice to white to quinoa to barley, we also add in a soup mix that consists of lentils, split peas, barley. Carrot and Celery as well as other root veg added. I also add coconut oil at the end. Add it to his kibble. Going to try the eggshell in the oven for calcium. Thanks for recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Sargon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
My Bichon will be 15 in a few months and was having trouble digesting his food. I've given him this recipe the last 2 weeks and he hasn't thrown up or had loose stool since. I think this recipe saved his life! Yay! I've also read and taken the advice tips from the comments section. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamra Scott-Hunt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I just used this recipie, but changed one thing, switched turkey for salmon. We have lots of salmon from last years catch that we needed to use up. My 2 blue pits , my chihuahua , and my cat scarfed it done like they were starving. In other words they LOVED it!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Kari Schader

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I agree it is a great base to start from. I have been making my own dog food for every dog I have ever owned and it has been several over the last 40 years. I always mix up the meats and veggies,to what ever I find in the reduced/sale bins at the supermarket so it doesn't have to be expensive. Sometimes its chicken,chicken livers,turkey,beef,beef liver,pork or lamb. The veggies(3 cups) are always a combination of either/or ,sweet potato,carrot,peas ,beans,cabbage. I also add apples sometimes blueberries-1 cup . When 1 see a reduced bag of apples I pick it up. they may be bruised ,but they are great for dog food. My method is always throw everything in the food processor and grind to a pulp. I add 2 cups of cooked white rice,2 cups of quick cooking oatmeal to the mixture( brown is much harder to digest) ,2-3 eggs and the ground egg shells,2/3 cup of a vegetable oil, garlic powder,parsley,oregano(1/2 tsp each, some water so it is not to dry, mix and bake at 375 for one hr in a 9x13 greased pan like a meatloaf. I cut into squares and get 48 squares from the pan which 1 add a square each to their 1 cup of good quality kibble 2xs day. My dogs are large and small and they love it and their coats are shiny. I also give the large lab raw marrow bones for her teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I loved the recipe and I a the owner of Raggs and co dog food company and we have never seen anything that looks this good and healthy thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I just tried making this and changed it up by adding an extra cup of brown rice and 1.5 boneless chicken breasts. I also put in some split peas to compliment the veggies. It made about 10 cups of wet dog food. I recommend putting them into smaller, freezable, containers unless you plan on using it all at one time. We will just keep dethawing the small containers from the freezer until we run out. My dogs loved eating this on top of their dry dog food. This seems cheap, easy, and healthy. It's a no brainer. Next time I make a batch I plan on adding a few scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
My black lab/ golden mix has allergies and I decided to try a more natural approach to see if it would help. I use a pound of ground turkey, switch off between the white and brown rice and throw my veggies into the blender after cooking and before adding them to the mix. I mix her dry dog food with equal parts of the homemade and she loves it. Still gets her nutrients and crunch with a lot less scratching! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minz29
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Such an easy recipe and my dog loves it! Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States