Homemade Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I liked that the recipe made lots and biscuits were nice and crunchy. Dogs loved them. I eliminated the salt and garlic powder as well as substituted chicken broth for the tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Best dog biscuits, my dogs loved them. I split the dough in half, I added peanut butter to one half and fresh grated Parmesan cheese to the other half. Your dog will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I made these for my dog after buying a store brand of biscuits that produced "unfortunate" (phew!)side effects. She loves them, they agree with her better than the boughten biscuits and they are easy to make. I followed the advice of other reviewers and left out the salt and substitute water for tomato juice. I use my KitchenAid with the heavy-duty mixer attachment and have no problem. I especially like this recipe because it uses the same ingredients I use for making bread for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I changed these a bit - eliminated the salt - dogs don't have the taste for it like people - and it's not good for them. I also used some water in place of the tomato juice - tomatoes can cause heart palpitations in certain dogs - so I'm not willing to take that chance. Thanks for the starting point though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This recipe makes a HUGE amount of doggie biscuits! I made some this Christmas for my co-workers, family and friends' dogs and saw one being devoured by my co-worker's new black Lab pup. The dough was really stiff - it actually bent one of my doggie bone cookie cutters and dried out as you worked it. I had to add more tomato juice and water after rolling out a portion of the dough, and returning to work to it. EDIT: Reviews are in! All of my co-workers' dogs loved the biscuits. One got "so crazy, she kept on getting paranoid that her treat was going to get taken from her!" Another co-worker's dog "kept on eyeing the bag on the counter and jumping up for them." Not bad for a "healthy" dog treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This was a really good recipe. I added a half cup of grated parmesan cheese so it had more smell and taste and he liked them alot. They were pretty tasty for people too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
These taste really good. My dog likes them too. Not stale like those ones that come in a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
Dogs love these! Note- I found the dough very difficult to mix. Use your breadmachine's dough cycle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States