Homemade Deviled Ham Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I was able to get ham "ends" at my local grocery deli--I just cubed up enough to make 1 1/2 cups. (I made a ham spread a couple years back that called for the ham ends and I think that gives your ham spread so much more flavor than you would normally get.) I used lowfat mayonnaise and dijon mustard. I do not keep celery salt on hand but I did have Beau Monde seasoning which is basically celery salt and onion powder. My family ate their ham spread on bread, I had mine spread on sliced cucumbers. This was quite good. I liked that it didn't have over kill of condiments that overpowered the ham spread and it wasn't runny which I really appreciated. Next time, I would add more onion and celery but that's really only to make it stretch a little farther. As is, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Trem
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This was so good. When I was a kid, deviled ham and cream cheese was my very favorite sandwich. The canned stuff is just awful, nutritionally so I made due with good memories. When I found this recipe, I knew I had to try it. I used fat free mayo, a very lean ham and left out the carway seed. I toosed it all into the food processor. I made a sandwich with this and fat free cream cheese... and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Very good make my own from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Shirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
My first reaction was, wow this is salty, but it really is very good. I don't think I'd change anything, other than I don't use caraway seeds. It tastes just like the deviled ham in the can from when I was a kid. At least I know what is in this deviled ham! I made mine totally in the food processor. Threw everything in and pulsed to the minced consistency I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
My husband asked me to make a ham spread and I had no idea what it even was so I found this recipe and tried it. It turned out SO good. My husband said it was awesome. We put it on Ritz crackers. When I went back for more my husband told me not to eat all his ham spread. Looks like I'll have to make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This was really tasty. I used leftover ham from the holidays. My kids don't really like onions or celery pieces so I threw those in last and gave the food processor a couple of short bursts. They loved it on triskets. I thought the recipe was relatively healthy for a spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This made tasty sandwiches for Mr. C & I today, and a great way to use up left over ham. Win-win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
The only deviled ham I have ever had has come from a can... Sad but true. Compared to this, the canned stuff is pure garbage. It was as if there was a party in my mouth and angels were singing... I made a double batch it was so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This very good. We both loved it. I used leftover ham. I omitted the celery salt because ham already has plenty of sodium in it. Instead I added 1/2 tsp. of dried celery for flavor. Also, as I was pureeing the ingredients, it seemed a bit dry, so I added about 1/4 cup of chicken broth. Probably won't be buying nearly as much ham spread at the deli counter any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puddymom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Oh my this was good! I made a double batch, might need a bit more mayo and mustard bc it seemed a bit dry. Changed celery salt to celery seed and scaled it back a tad based on comments made by others in re the salt. Otherwise no changes, thanks for the awesome recipe, I'm keeping this as my permanent one for all time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Ham and Cheese Rolls

These easy and tasty little sliders are perfect for game day.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States