Homemade Deviled Ham Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I was able to get ham "ends" at my local grocery deli--I just cubed up enough to make 1 1/2 cups. (I made a ham spread a couple years back that called for the ham ends and I think that gives your ham spread so much more flavor than you would normally get.) I used lowfat mayonnaise and dijon mustard. I do not keep celery salt on hand but I did have Beau Monde seasoning which is basically celery salt and onion powder. My family ate their ham spread on bread, I had mine spread on sliced cucumbers. This was quite good. I liked that it didn't have over kill of condiments that overpowered the ham spread and it wasn't runny which I really appreciated. Next time, I would add more onion and celery but that's really only to make it stretch a little farther. As is, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This was so good. When I was a kid, deviled ham and cream cheese was my very favorite sandwich. The canned stuff is just awful, nutritionally so I made due with good memories. When I found this recipe, I knew I had to try it. I used fat free mayo, a very lean ham and left out the carway seed. I toosed it all into the food processor. I made a sandwich with this and fat free cream cheese... and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Very good make my own from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
My husband asked me to make a ham spread and I had no idea what it even was so I found this recipe and tried it. It turned out SO good. My husband said it was awesome. We put it on Ritz crackers. When I went back for more my husband told me not to eat all his ham spread. Looks like I'll have to make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I didn't have caraway seeds, so I left them out. It was good. I will make it again and increase the hot sauce a wee bit, just to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is excellent exactly as made, directly out of the food processor.. and even better if left to chill in the refrigerator for an hour or so before serving. I pulled it out, gave it a stir, set out some triscuits and it disappeared! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made 1/2 recipe of this for lunch today and I got about 2 servings. The flavor was fine, but boy was it salty! That came out to a 1/2 tsp of salts. I would make this again, but just do a small pinch of both. I followed the recipe exactly just omitting the caraway seeds, because I realized I didn't have them. I don't care much for them anyhow and I just chopped everything by hand. The salad will take on more of a yellow or orange color with the mustard and red seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Made this tonight. I had caraway seeds from my spice rack, but I'd never tried them before this recipe. I will skip them next time. Used my Ninja to chop it all up. Thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This was really tasty. I used leftover ham from the holidays. My kids don't really like onions or celery pieces so I threw those in last and gave the food processor a couple of short bursts. They loved it on triskets. I thought the recipe was relatively healthy for a spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This made tasty sandwiches for Mr. C & I today, and a great way to use up left over ham. Win-win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Ham and Cheese Rolls

These easy and tasty little sliders are perfect for game day.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States