Homemade Condensed Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Used this to make a Chocolate Fridge Pie ... added Droste cocoa powder ... very delish ... BUT this recipe produced the same amount as 2 cans of SCM and I buy those 2 cans for $1.50 each ($3 total) plus I used dried cane juice not white sugar so I find it more expensive than the cans STILL it is a brilliant way for me to fill in though I keep SCM on hand always ... good recipe for those who don't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is so easy to make and makes about 3 cans worth in one try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This is great. I needed condenced milk for ice cream and this works well. I had to use powdered sugar but it worked fine. Very smooth and creamy. I used Peak whole milk powder and real butter. Super easy and fast. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Bailey, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is exactly what I needed for the granola bar recipe here on AR. I replaced 1 cup white sugar with 1/2 cup honey. We are trying to reduce white sugar in our diet. It had the perfect consistency! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
this works perfect ... thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NafKY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
SO easy and MUCH less expensive than the canned version! next time I will use another reviewer's advice and only use 3 cups of milk powder, as this was a tad too thick. Will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavedByGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
worked pretty good, but you have to watch carefully so it doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I've made this a few times and it is a great substitute for the canned version...and much cheaper. I have found that you can get away with about 1 cup less powdered milk and still get perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This recipie is an indispensable, must have! I used it in a homemade icecream recipie and it turned out great. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Good stuff, thanks! This made a little under 3 1/2 cups. It's a good way to use up that nonfat dry milk I bought for one recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

How to Make Homemade Crème Fraiche

See how to make homemade crème fraiche.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States