Homemade Chocolate Walnut Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I think this recipe deserves 5 stars by itself, but I made some changes that suited my own tastes. I used 1 full cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips (melted with the 3/4 cup salted butter in the microwave), 1 tsp vanilla (I like vanilla) and a few hand fulls of walnuts (didn't measure it, it must have been more than a cup). I baked it in a 9x13x2 glass casserole dish sprayed with PAM, for 30 minutes, perfect thickness. Very good not dry but not gooey and perfect sweetness. I will use this recipe for brownies from now on, mainly because I did not NEED a glass of milk to go with them. I also did not get the pic I wanted because I had 6 children yelling for brownies and I didn't have time, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeHeaven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I've made this recipe twice now. The flavor is really good, but I generally like a denser, moister brownie. So next time I'm going to use 3 eggs instead of 4, and perhaps a full cup of chocolate chips (maybe a little more butter, too?). This time I added about 1/2tsp of salt and that made a big difference, so I'll continue to do that in the future. But overall, a great jumping off point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Decadent brownies! I made these in a 13x9x2 pan for 30 minutes. Perfect! I also took Sarah Jo's advice and added the brownie frosting. Wow!!! I used pecans, personal preference. Also added some chocolate chips to the batter, Yummy , Yummy, concoction! It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
So, a good recipe overall I thought, however much more "cake" like than I prefer or expected given how dense the batter was. If you like fudgy brownies this isn't it! Maybe would be better with frosting? Also, put this in 9 x 13 pan and they were SUPER thick. Can't imagine putting this in 9x9! LOTS of batter. Would put it in a larger pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Great recipe! I did it with black walnuts, which are native to the U.S. They cost a little more, but really "kick it up a notch."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I use salted butter in this recipe, pecans instead of walnuts and I add a half teaspoon of salt. One of THE best brownies I've ever had. Wanna really make this decadent? Frost these babies with Brownie Frosting, which is also from this site. Best cure for anything I can think of!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Totally not flat without the salt! Anyway, it doesn't say to use sweet cream butter . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Me and my entire family just love this. It is pretty cake like, but so perfect with ice cream. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This recipe needs 1/2 tsp salt - they had a very flat taste without it -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Great recipe! I used bittersweet chocolate chips and was thrilled with the moist, not-to-sweet taste. No changes to the recipe and will happily repeat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Homemade Chocolate Cronuts

Pudding-filled chocolate donuts made with refrigerated crescent dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States