Homemade Chocolate Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I just made these and I have to say I'm pretty disappointed there is hardly any chocolate flavor ( and I don't even really care for chocolate). And despite others complaining of the cookies spreading alot mine barely spread at all the were very thick because of it. I'm not sure whether this was a result of using the shortening or not. I will try again using butter and report how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
TOO SWEET!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would recommend using a filling that is not too sweet. Also, probably better to make them much smaller since they are so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Very good and super easy! I think these would make excellent ice cream sandwiches, too. After having success with Devil's Food, I tried to use Red Velvet to make a more fastive looking cookie. But the dough turned out way too sticky and I had to add lots of flour to form them into their cookie shape. That resulted in the cookies not flattening out at all which made them too bulky for a sandwich. I just put the icing on top and they are "ok" but not nearly as delicious (or as easy) as the chocolate variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Wow these are easy and really good I made them with Choc and (Lemon the best) and Spice I used crisco butter instead of shortning made them really soft and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Texas, USA
Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These cookies were awesome. They remind me of the Cakester Cookies that you buy. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I use 1 box devils food cake mix, 1 egg, 1/2 cup peanut butter, & 4 oz cream cheese. Roll into balls and press down like peanut butter cookies. Cook at 350 for 8 minutes. After cool frost w/ cream cheese icing!! Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I give these 5 stars for taste and appeal. Easy to make, just don't frost them til they are all the way cooled or they will slide around. These are tasty, chewy, and an easy 'fancy' cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindabg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Love it, love it, love it!! How easy are these cookies?! I put one box spice cake mix, two eggs and 1/2 cup of shortening all in the food processor with the dough mixer. Press the button and the dough is mixed without any effort. Easiest cookies I have ever made and taste great. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These were wonderful. I used cream cheese frosting for half of them and marshmallow fluff for the other half and both were fabulous! The cookies were easy to make and very tender, with a very chocolately taste. I'll be making them a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I did not have a pastry blender so I used just a regular mixer which was a little messy. The cookies cooked about 16 minutes instead of 10. They turned out very soft. I used store bought cream cheese icing and the sandwiches were very yummy. Got to love sweets to really enjoy these cookies. They are great with a glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States