Homemade Chocolate Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I make these frequently (with my own cream cheese frosting) and they are always delicious. I've also used red velvet cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reenie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I love this recipe! Anytime I have to bring a desert this is my go to recipe. I even tried the "name brand" soft cookie only to feel like I wasted my money because these are way better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Mmmm, so yummy and so bad for you!! I made just as instructed EXCEPT cooked for 9 minutes and then cooled for 20 before frosting. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I wasn't crazy about these when we made them, but the next day they were much better. They were a little too cake like at first, but they firmed up by the next day and reminded me of the little debbie chocolate sandwiches you can buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DDRay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I made these with strawberry cake mix and made the cream cheese frosting II recipe from this site. I used butter instead of shortening since I don't care for using shortening. I only baked them 8 minutes and they stayed extremely soft. I left them on the pan for about five minutes and then transferred to a wire rack. The flavor is pretty good, but they got mixed reviews at work. One person said they were too moist and fell apart and got all over them! I might try them again with dark chocolate cake mix or spice cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
these are so easy and so yummy. I use dark chocolate cake mix instead of devils food.i use real butter in stead of the shortening.i only use pastry blender for part of it then dig in with my hands. i still use the cream cheese frosting (canned or homemade)but add flavoring to it. we have done mint, peanut butter, carmel, raspberry and banana. these are a favorite of our school's marching band during there 3rd quarter break at football games.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Yum! Made as stated with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
These are such a great twist on a regular cookie! The family loved them. I used spice cake instead if devil's food cake and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made this for a cookie exchange with spice cake mix, cream cheese frosting and pecans, and everyone wanted the recipe. The dough is very thick and a bit greasy but the cookies came out amazing. I can't wait to try it with devils food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made these yesterday for a New Years Eve party and everybody really liked them,i rolled them into smaller balls and got many more than 12!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States