Homemade Chocolate Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Thanks to some of you, I use the cream cheese. My kids love 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I've a similar recipe, and it is one of my favorites: #1 reason being is convenience, you can go from start to finish in close to an hour. I keep all the ingredients on hand, just for those quick need 'em times. I think the taste of the cookie is very good! I've always had a soft, nice cookie. You never want to over-bake, and these cookies definitely should be cooled on the cookie sheet completely. 1 box cake mix (my favorite is called Triple Chocolate) 2 eggs 1/2 cup oil Bake 350F for 8 minutes. Addins: peanut butter chips (won't take a whole bag) I have tried a yellow cake mix and rolled them in sugar (like sugar cookies), but I did not like the taste overall. Other than that, I haven't ventured from my favorite "triple chocolate" mix. I recently used this recipe, with a cream cheese filling, and rolled the cookie sandwiches in crushed candy cane. These cookies were find, but I'm hoping to refine and find a better recipe for that kind of cute holiday cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
A friend of mine makes these for a bake sale we have twice a year and they are TO DIE FOR!!!! YUMMMMMMY!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made these today with my kids - super easy and super yummy!! A no fail recipe!! They would be great with whipped white frosting in a can too. We will definitely be making these again. My only advice would be to make sure you make the cookies no bigger than quarter sized. They spread out a lot. This makes a lot of cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I've been making these cookies for years and they are ALWAYS a hit where ever I go. I use store bought "white" (not vanilla) frosting in middle. Sometimes I even get fancy and melt some chocolate, put it in a ziploc bag and drizzle it over the top of the finished cookies...let it cool completely and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I make these ALL the time. I use butter instead of shortening, and I only use 2 eggs and 1/2 c butter. I love using cream cheese frosting in the middle. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
whoo hoo these were so good and easy, I mixed marshmallows with a little butter-as for rice krispie squares. Melted the marshmallows and spread on one cookie, then put cream cheese on the other -delicious! Second time around I made these adding sliced almonds and almond flav to the marshmallow filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Easiest recipe ever and its really yummy! The cookies were a little crunchier than I like but it think if i wouldve baked them a minute or two less they wouldve been perfect. My three yr old can amlost mix this up herself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
What a great recipe version and so versatile to be able to use other flavored cake mixes! I will definately have to try them! I used a cream cheese and marshmallow mixture for the filling instead...Yummy!! Also great to take on camp outs... roast marshmallows and put them between 2 cookies..delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silversprings4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
DELICIOUS!! i made some and my whole family tried to each a whole batch. Will be making some more often. very easy....TRY it with VANILLA icing and tell me it isn't great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States