Homemade Chocolate Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Awesome! I do not own a food processor so tried using my stand mixer instead. Bad idea. Nearly burned it up because the dough was very stiff. I used my small cookie dough scoop and made 6 dozen identical size cookies. My first batch did not spread out like I expected, so I flattened the dough balls in the remainder of the batches to about 1/4 inch and they turned out perfectly. I used buttercream frosting for the filling. Husband and son loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I made this exactly as written but used a spice cake and a carrot cake that is all I had also added raisins. I got 26 filled cookies(which would have been 52 cookies)I made them for church and they were a big hit. Do not taste like cake mix cookies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Love these cookies. My son is always asked to bring them to parties. I have also made them with red velvet cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I cut the recipe in half and boy was I sorry I did! Me and the kids are them up! I filled mine with Nutella and some with white frosting. I refrigerated them and they were even better the next day. One of the best things I have ever eaten! I did use butter instead of shortening and the cookies still got great. I rolled my cookie balls bigger so that my cookie sandwiches would be larger. Just a personal preference. I am going to try spice cake next with cream cheese frosting. One of the best recipes yet!! Try them you will not be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
These are delicious and super easy!!! Love these. Great for kids to just grab and go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
A household fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Taste ok. Nothing to write home about. Suggest you use a glass and slightly flatten the cookies before baking because they come out pretty thick. Easier to make sandwich cookies out of them when they are flatter. Haven't decided if I'll make them again. But all in all it's an interesting twist on a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
So easy to make and always a hit at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Swenson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Easy recipe. I put ice cream in the center instead of the recommended filling. I know my family will love these ice cream sandwiches after they are frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drbiffswife
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I usually halve the recipe and end up with enough cookies to make 12-15 sandwiches. I fill with ice cream and store them in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States