Homemade Chocolate Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Great recipe! Used 1 box cake mix, 1 stick butter and 2 eggs with electric mixer. How easy is that? 1 level tablespoon for each cookie, 10 min. Each one perfect and the same size. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I have made these cookies twice, once with devils food cake and once with spice cake. Both were very yummy but my family and friends liked the ones made with spice cake and cream cheese frosting better. I will definatly be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I didn't quite love these. I think they were just way too sweet and I tend to like things sweet. If you do make them, I filled a large plastic bag with the frosting and then turned over half of them and lined them up. I then piped in a large glob of frosting on each and then used the remaining cookies to top them. I'm sure it saved a ton of time to do it this way and piping the icing was way faster than if I would have tried to scoop it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I have been making these cookies for years now and always receive requests for the recipe. Not only are they so easy to make, they are also so easy to travel with-- especially when frozen first. In the summer time we will use our favorite flavors of ice cream in lieu of the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Fabulous cookies. Everywhere we take these cookies they are the first to disappear. The cookies don't need very much icing between them to sweeten them up. These are so easy to make that my oldest daughter (age 10) was able to make them herself for a bake sale fundraiser. I would guess that they would freeze well, but they never last that long at our house even when I double the recipe. Also, as a time saver I use prepared cream cheese icing. One container of icing is sufficient for a double batch of cookies. Thanks so much to John for the best cookie recipe ever!! PS These cookies are even better than oreos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
I took these cookies to our annual "Cookie Day Competition" at work and won the grand prize. It makes a HUGE batch of cookies. Don't skimp on the frosting. Store them in the fridge so the icing stays firm & the cookies stay cold, chewy & wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Excellent & different. I used the cream cheese recipe called for in the cookie recipe and was delighted. I only made about half the cookie batter and froze the rest. It makes a very large batch- good for bake sales!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This recipe is very good. My family started eating the cookies before they were put together with the filling. I used a different filling. I am looking forward to trying this recipe with other flavors of cake mix and fillings. Oh by the way, I mixed mine with a hand mixer and they turned out great and was easier than the pastry blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
These are delicious! Soft and Chewy and so easy to make! YUM! Everyone at work loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made these today with my kids - super easy and super yummy!! A no fail recipe!! They would be great with whipped white frosting in a can too. We will definitely be making these again. My only advice would be to make sure you make the cookies no bigger than quarter sized. They spread out a lot. This makes a lot of cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States