Homemade Chocolate Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I wasn't crazy about these when we made them, but the next day they were much better. They were a little too cake like at first, but they firmed up by the next day and reminded me of the little debbie chocolate sandwiches you can buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DDRay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I made these with strawberry cake mix and made the cream cheese frosting II recipe from this site. I used butter instead of shortening since I don't care for using shortening. I only baked them 8 minutes and they stayed extremely soft. I left them on the pan for about five minutes and then transferred to a wire rack. The flavor is pretty good, but they got mixed reviews at work. One person said they were too moist and fell apart and got all over them! I might try them again with dark chocolate cake mix or spice cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
these are so easy and so yummy. I use dark chocolate cake mix instead of devils food.i use real butter in stead of the shortening.i only use pastry blender for part of it then dig in with my hands. i still use the cream cheese frosting (canned or homemade)but add flavoring to it. we have done mint, peanut butter, carmel, raspberry and banana. these are a favorite of our school's marching band during there 3rd quarter break at football games.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Yum! Made as stated with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
These are such a great twist on a regular cookie! The family loved them. I used spice cake instead if devil's food cake and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made this for a cookie exchange with spice cake mix, cream cheese frosting and pecans, and everyone wanted the recipe. The dough is very thick and a bit greasy but the cookies came out amazing. I can't wait to try it with devils food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made these yesterday for a New Years Eve party and everybody really liked them,i rolled them into smaller balls and got many more than 12!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These came out really well for me, and tasted even better ! I used *very* soft unsalted butter instead of shortening, and after having a difficult time with the hand mixer (I don't have a pastry paddle) ended up using my hands to mix the dough. I used a level tablespoon for each cookie and they spread beautifully, just about the size of a "Little Debbie" Fudge Round or Creme Pie. I also used store bought frosting, all the "whipped" variety, in strawberry, chocolate, and whip cream flavors. The whip cream flavor was the best, but the chocolate (I'm a chocolate lover) was a very close second. I stored mine in tupperware and ziploc bags in the fridge and they kept well for more than 10 days. It's best to remove from the fridge and let come to room temperature for maximum softness. This is a VERY sweet cookie, especially with my filling choices, but I thought they tasted great and so did everyone I gave them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I made these cookies only with yellow cake and peanutbutter instead of the shortining. I also made homemade peanutbutter frosting and put that in the middle. My peanut butter lovers in my family really enjoyed them. They were bit HUGE and too much for the little ones though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccraisins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
everyone at work wanted the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echocara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jamesport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States