Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Great simple recipe to start with and I look forward to playing with it. I added potato because I had it on hand. Everyone liked it, it was cheap and there was not much cleaning up to do afterward. Very nice recipe for traveling abroad as most of the ingredients are readily available in many cities if you enjoy cooking for others while traveling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I tried it and it was delicious. I need to tweak it a bit, but will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I'm giving this a 3 because in my humble opinion homemade doesn't involve the use of chicken bouillon and that's what I was looking for. I think if you add enough herbs when you're boiling down the broth and later to your soup you won't need manufactured bouillon, that's what I did using this as a basic recipe minus the bouillon. I threw some sage, rosemary, bay leaf, thyme, (dill I think?) whole peppercorns...anything I could think of that goes with chicken into the broth when I boiled it. I didn't take everything out of the pan before straining, I just dumped the broth and all over a colander and strained it into a big bowl that way. Picking out pieces of chicken right from the colander. I too used fresh veggies in the final soup. Then I threw in all the other herbs I mentioned before and added salt only to taste. Next time I'm going to throw in a little bit of raw brown rice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I made this for my daughter after tummy issues and it was a hit! I actually sautéed the meat (thighs) and veggies beforehand and then dropped everything in and then pulled the meat off the bones!! I also pre chopped everything!! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Good basic recipe. I learned a trick with turkey and chicken, which is to break the bones with a hammer and stew them in the broth for added flavor. No bullion needed, then. So, you need to cook it once to get the meat done, then again with the bones in. Cook veggies, throw them out, then add fresh ones. Also, I use some garlic in the original broth. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Great recipe. I add lemon juice and noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
AWESOME! I can't believe I made such a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acadianbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Thank you for posting. This is exactly what I needed to get me started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very easy to make especially when I'm not feeling well! I used drumsticks instead of a whole chicken and found it very easy to de-bone them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States