Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I made this for my daughter after tummy issues and it was a hit! I actually sautéed the meat (thighs) and veggies beforehand and then dropped everything in and then pulled the meat off the bones!! I also pre chopped everything!! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Good basic recipe. I learned a trick with turkey and chicken, which is to break the bones with a hammer and stew them in the broth for added flavor. No bullion needed, then. So, you need to cook it once to get the meat done, then again with the bones in. Cook veggies, throw them out, then add fresh ones. Also, I use some garlic in the original broth. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Great recipe. I add lemon juice and noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
AWESOME! I can't believe I made such a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acadianbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Thank you for posting. This is exactly what I needed to get me started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very easy to make especially when I'm not feeling well! I used drumsticks instead of a whole chicken and found it very easy to de-bone them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Very good, recipe for chicken soup. It's basic enough that you can add your own variations to the recipe. I made it for my boyfriend when he was sick with a nasty cold. (I actually added a bit of cayenne pepper to give it a kick.) He claims it was just what he needed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Nice basic recipe. For a rich color, I cook it with onion skins. Yellow onion skins for a light brown or add red onion skins for a very dark broth. Just discard after straining broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I have a question I use water and a on the bone chicken breast to make my broth. I use about 5 cups per breast. I'm seeing so many recipes calling for using chicken broth (canned) I'd like to get more flavor but I really don't want to use a canned broth I feel like I might as well just open a can of Campbells. Also I remember my mother using a soup chicken which was a fatty chicken. I guess those days are gone or where should I be looking? Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States