Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Maria Elizabeth Rosado
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
It was wonderful and easy, just a bit time consuming but delicious! I love it! I did add 3 bouillon cubes though, it was a bit too bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Added Corn & Spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I add a little white wine, garlic, and thyme, as well as salt and pepper to taste. I used a previously roasted chicken, pulled off the meat and put the bones and skin in cheesecloth, because I have texture issues, but I wanted the flavor. I have also added milk (coconut or almond works) to give it more of a stew feeling in the past. Perfect recipe for cold days, picky eaters, and special diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Pretty much the way I make soup. May I suggest adding the center tender stalks AND the leaves. The leaves add so much more flavor. Also if you wait until the next day to serve this you can lift the solidified fat off the top of soup before you reheat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I've used this recipe several times. Only I buy a rotisserie chicken, remove the skin and bones, and throw it in to expedite the cook time for weeknight meals. I use chicken and vegetable broth for ease, and I also like to throw in whole peppercorns as well as crushed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Good basic recipe. Someone mentioned bouillon not being homemade. I think that it still is considered a spice and I love the taste it adds. But if you don't want to add that, I like adding a little bit of tomato sauce in mine. I make mine with carrots, corn (cut in 3's), potatoes (just 1 usually ), cabbage, garlic, onion, and squash. Very tasty! But I think all chicken soup is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Claudiu Ana
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Added some dill. Crazy delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Great simple recipe to start with and I look forward to playing with it. I added potato because I had it on hand. Everyone liked it, it was cheap and there was not much cleaning up to do afterward. Very nice recipe for traveling abroad as most of the ingredients are readily available in many cities if you enjoy cooking for others while traveling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I tried it and it was delicious. I need to tweak it a bit, but will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I'm giving this a 3 because in my humble opinion homemade doesn't involve the use of chicken bouillon and that's what I was looking for. I think if you add enough herbs when you're boiling down the broth and later to your soup you won't need manufactured bouillon, that's what I did using this as a basic recipe minus the bouillon. I threw some sage, rosemary, bay leaf, thyme, (dill I think?) whole peppercorns...anything I could think of that goes with chicken into the broth when I boiled it. I didn't take everything out of the pan before straining, I just dumped the broth and all over a colander and strained it into a big bowl that way. Picking out pieces of chicken right from the colander. I too used fresh veggies in the final soup. Then I threw in all the other herbs I mentioned before and added salt only to taste. Next time I'm going to throw in a little bit of raw brown rice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States