Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Good basic recipe. Someone mentioned bouillon not being homemade. I think that it still is considered a spice and I love the taste it adds. But if you don't want to add that, I like adding a little bit of tomato sauce in mine. I make mine with carrots, corn (cut in 3's), potatoes (just 1 usually ), cabbage, garlic, onion, and squash. Very tasty! But I think all chicken soup is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Claudiu Ana
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Added some dill. Crazy delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Great simple recipe to start with and I look forward to playing with it. I added potato because I had it on hand. Everyone liked it, it was cheap and there was not much cleaning up to do afterward. Very nice recipe for traveling abroad as most of the ingredients are readily available in many cities if you enjoy cooking for others while traveling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I tried it and it was delicious. I need to tweak it a bit, but will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I'm giving this a 3 because in my humble opinion homemade doesn't involve the use of chicken bouillon and that's what I was looking for. I think if you add enough herbs when you're boiling down the broth and later to your soup you won't need manufactured bouillon, that's what I did using this as a basic recipe minus the bouillon. I threw some sage, rosemary, bay leaf, thyme, (dill I think?) whole peppercorns...anything I could think of that goes with chicken into the broth when I boiled it. I didn't take everything out of the pan before straining, I just dumped the broth and all over a colander and strained it into a big bowl that way. Picking out pieces of chicken right from the colander. I too used fresh veggies in the final soup. Then I threw in all the other herbs I mentioned before and added salt only to taste. Next time I'm going to throw in a little bit of raw brown rice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I made this for my daughter after tummy issues and it was a hit! I actually sautéed the meat (thighs) and veggies beforehand and then dropped everything in and then pulled the meat off the bones!! I also pre chopped everything!! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Good basic recipe. I learned a trick with turkey and chicken, which is to break the bones with a hammer and stew them in the broth for added flavor. No bullion needed, then. So, you need to cook it once to get the meat done, then again with the bones in. Cook veggies, throw them out, then add fresh ones. Also, I use some garlic in the original broth. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Great recipe. I add lemon juice and noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
AWESOME! I can't believe I made such a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acadianbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States