Homemade Chicken Parmigiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This is a good base to start with but I had to make a lot of tweaks to get it where I thought it needed to be. Chicken first: I used panko bread crumbs instead of plain, added about 1tsp oregano, 1tsp basil, 1/2 tsp parsley, 1/4tsp ground rosemary, and 1/2tsp granulated garlic. I pounded the breasts out to 1/4" thickness, then let them sit in the breading mixture in the fridge after dipping in the egg while I prepped sauce. To the sauce I also added about 3tbsp more sugar because canned tomatos are kind of bitter, basil, organo and parsley as well as using my own roasted garlic instead of minced. You have to use more because the roasted garlic is very mellow, I used around 6 cloves, and I mashed it and steeped it in the cream after heating the cream in the microwave. I added a bit of red pepper flake for just a bit of bite, too maybe 1/8 tsp, 1/4 if you like it spicy. I simmered the sauce for as long as it took to boil the water and cook the pasta, then added the garlic steeped cream just 2 min before serving. I started the chicken on medium high heat about halfway through the pasta cook time, and with it pounded so flat it was timed perfect to be done right as the pasta needed to be drained. The panko made sure the breading stayed crisp and the extra seasoning in the breading and sauce made a huge flavor difference. My husband isn't normally a fan of chicken with anything tomato and he loves this and asks for it at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Heiderich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I made this as exactly written. Im not a big fan of tomato sauce but this was so delicious from the cream in it. I almost but licked my plate clean (I had guests over).. I did flatten the chicken and I served with spaghetti noodles..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
What a keeper! Thanks! I did as written ... it turned out delicious ... I did double the sauce though! yummy! And I served it with homemade noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Very tasty but would like a little thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Loved the lighter, more delicate sauce, and it was a good fit since I had all the ingredients. Served it over fettuccini noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is now my favorite chicken parmigiana recipe. I made a few minor changes. I used a couple of table spoons of corn starch in the bread crumbs for a better crust. I use fire roasted diced tomatoes which give it a really nice twist and for a bit of a kick a some red pepper flakes in the sauce. I won't make any other chicken parm now and anybody who tries it loves the different take on this classic dish. They're always asking for the recipe. Oh, and I double the sauce portion of the recipe so I have some for the pasta too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is the beauty of Allrecipes, you get great recipes that you can build on, and this is one of them. My only recommendation is that you double the sauce, you're going to want more. I also put the chicken in a baking dish and poured the sauce over the chicken. I kept the dish warm until ready to serve. My family wanted mashed potatoes, so I added the cheese to the potatoes instead of on top of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Amazing! Easy and delicious, didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Easy and wonderful! I threw out my previous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Not so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

See how to make a super-simple baked chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States