Homemade Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Best. Chicken. Gravy. Ever!! Thank you, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Loved the cayenne in this. I added more than the recipe calls for, because I like a little more kick than usual. But we will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I have never made my own gravy before, but since gravy is one of the reasons I get up every day, I figured I ought to try it. ;) This was phenomenal. I eliminated the cream, but otherwise followed the posted recipe. My roux did not cook for quite as long as called for, but no big deal. My gravy was a little bit light in color. It still tasted rich and chickeny and perfect. WILL be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I used a nice rich homemade chicken stock, all ingredients and instructions filled exactly...but I wish I had never used the cream, made it milky and diluted, whereas before I added it, it was perfect. My advise, follow everything,use rich homemade stock, and totally skip the cream. I should then be PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this as written and did not like it ..Make some changes .. 1/4 c. butter, 1/3 c. flour, 1 Knorr chicken stock pod, 2 c. milk , 1 c. water and 1/3 package dry onion soup ... Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
The addition of cream, half & half or milk is not necessary in this recipe. It will probably remind you more of chicken without the dairy. I wouldn't bother adding it and I think Chef John didn't really mean it was necessary if you watched the video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris in FL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I always wanted to make a good gravy and was very surprised how easy this was to make and how excellent it tasted! Made this with the ultimate roast chicken which is absolutely amazing! This gravy was the icing on the cake! it was easy and so tasty. The boys and husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This is a pretty decent gravy recipe but it wasn't exactly what I was looking for. The flavor isn't a strong chicken gravy flavor. Its subtle and somewhat bland, on its own. I've never added heavy cream to a gravy before and I'm not sure I like that flavor. You could definitely tell it had a hint of cream. However, the consistency was excellent and when I added it to cooked chicken, mashed potatoes, and corn, it was a very good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This is the BEST recipe for homemade gravy! Thank you Chef for a delicious recipe with clear and concise instructions and timing. My family concurred - "Delicious gravy, FINALLY!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
My husband said this gravy was killer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States