Homemade Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Used whole wheat flour and added cooked, shredded chicken. I also used ham stock (since it was what I had) and added some chicken bullion. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
It was great but how I did it was do flour and butter after butter melted added flour then slowing added chicken stock seasoned at same time and added cream during process well wisking together brought to low for 10 to 15 mins came together nice added at end I knew wouldn't bring together correctly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
just made this for dinner, came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This is amazing!! I wont change a thing, I always try recipes orignal, at first, then make it my way, but this needed nothing differnt!! thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This is fabulous! I can't believe that *I* just made this gravy!! Versatile enough to add in whatever flavors you like...I added a bit of poultry seasoning, salt, black pepper, & onion powder. I loved it before adding the cream but the cream definitely adds a richness. I'm glad I included it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This gravy is excellent! I substituted salted butter, whole milk and left out the cayenne pepper. My (boxed) stock wasn't cold, so while I was making the roux I let the stock cool in the freezer. My family loved it. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Really good, light flavor. I put some onion in my roux, and some bacon drippings in my homemade stock. I mixed it with some cut up chicken and served it over mashed potatoes. Would be great with rice, noodles or biscuits. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillianstavig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is the best gravy I've ever made. I used boxed stock and added some chicken bouillon granules to enhance the flavor even more. I also added a pinch of poultry seasoning. Very velvety texture with no lumps! Thank you so much, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Perfect gravy! Super easy to make and no lumps. I added some dried thyme to the roux and a couple drops of Worcestershire sauce at the end (a tip from one of Chef John's other recipes). Make sure you sample as you go and add salt if it's tasting too "chicken broth-y."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Found this very bland. It definitely needed drippings and/or a blend of savory spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States