Homemade Chicken Cacciatore, Sicilian-Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
If you are like me, you might sometimes take a pass on recipes with a few number of reviews, feeling that there is strength in numbers. This is the recipe that should make you change your mind! It is an easy cacciatore recipe that saves you the work and effort of browning the chicken and you don't lose an iota of flavor. I stayed closed to the recipe but added one red pepper as well as a package of sliced mushrooms. I am told that isn't traditional but something called hunter's stew should have mushrooms....very earthy ;-) I added six cloves of fresh garlic and omitted the garlic salt. I used fire roasted diced tomatoes and they really added a depth of flavor. Because I added veggies, I also added a 14.5oz can of fire roasted crushed tomatoes and the sauce simmered itself to a really thick state. I didn't have to add flour. Just threw the tomatoes in with their juices from the beginning. In fact, the leftovers will probably need another can of tomatoes to get some sauciness back. I did as the writer said and left the skin on the chicken which was a bit problematic as the chicken cooks until is falls off the bone so I had to chase out skin bits throughout the sauce. I used 2 breasts and a package of thighs. Next time, I will remove the skin. Excellent recipe... served over egg noodles. So good that I hid the leftovers in the back of the fridge where hubby might not find them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Great! I changed it a bit though...I made it all in the slow cooker, which made everything SO easy. I used skinless thighs. I didnt sautee anything...just put the chicken on top of sliced onion and bell peppers in the crock pot, mixed the sauce in a separate bowl and added on top of the chicken. I added a can of tomato paste and left out the flour. Next time I'll try a little red pepper to give it a kick! Served over mashed potatoes, which was a nice change :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Made this tonight and it was excellent! Used frozen boneless/skinless chicken breasts and just added them to the sauted garlic & onions. Added spices, then liquids. Used 1 cup of beef stock, 1 can of chicken stock and 1 cup of wine for the liquid. Also used LOTS of fresh chopped garlic, but then again there is no such thing as 'too much garlic' in our family. Cooked the chicken most of the way, then added 1 red bellpepper and 2 small zuchinis. Excellent way to sneak in extra veggies. ;-) Will definitely make again. Hubby asked me to put it on the menu to make at least monthly. :-) 5 stars from my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was really great! I modified it to work in a crockpot - but hands down one of the best cacciatore's I've had in ages! Sauteed the veggies in butter and set aside. Added two chicken breasts, two thighs and two legs to the crock pot, added salt and pepper. Poured in the wine, added the sauteed veggies and italian spices (I had garden fresh basil oregano and rosemary) then topped with one drained can of tomatoes and one undrained can and a can of tomato sauce. I added the extra can of sauce because I needed a little more liquid for the crockpot - but I reserved (like it said i the recipe) the drained juice. And used that with flour to thicken at the very end. 4 hours at high, pulled the meat out and shredded off the bone added back in for another 1 hour on low. it was fabulous and I am thrilled I have so much leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Very good recipe. The picture is what made me want to try it. It looked like the meat was taken off the bone after cooking - I had never taken it off the bone or used boneless. I tried it this way and will be making it this way from now on. I made some minor changes by browning my chicken first in the same pan and used colored peppers. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I too made this in the slow cooker. It was ok, not great. I wouldn't make this again. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Fanfreakintastic! I used basil, garlic, & oregano diced tomatoes and added a bit of italian dressing mix and served over linguine. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KungFuJimmyChoo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe. Followed the directions almost exactly. Didn't do the flour thing and it didn't need it. Also I served it over Polenta instead of spaghetti. Thanks for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This recipe was awesome! I threw everything in the crock pot (did not saute the onions/peppers), used boneless, skinless thighs and cooked on high for 4 hours. The only 'problem' was that the 6 thighs practically disintegrated and I could barely find enough chunks of chicken for the 3 of us. I'll definitely cook it less next time, but the flavor was fabulous! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridalinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sholwtr
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I took a chance and made this new recipe for dinner tonight....WOW! Was I pleased! All three kids (ages 7,8&9) loved it and said Mmmm! after the first few bites. Hubby liked it too...what a hit! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States