Homemade Chicken Cacciatore, Sicilian-Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sholwtr
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I took a chance and made this new recipe for dinner tonight....WOW! Was I pleased! All three kids (ages 7,8&9) loved it and said Mmmm! after the first few bites. Hubby liked it too...what a hit! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Fanfreakintastic! I used basil, garlic, & oregano diced tomatoes and added a bit of italian dressing mix and served over linguine. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KungFuJimmyChoo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Delicious!! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. I used chicken breasts because I had those on hand and it was still very flavorful. I added sliced olives too. I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Great! I changed it a bit though...I made it all in the slow cooker, which made everything SO easy. I used skinless thighs. I didnt sautee anything...just put the chicken on top of sliced onion and bell peppers in the crock pot, mixed the sauce in a separate bowl and added on top of the chicken. I added a can of tomato paste and left out the flour. Next time I'll try a little red pepper to give it a kick! Served over mashed potatoes, which was a nice change :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Made this tonight and it was excellent! Used frozen boneless/skinless chicken breasts and just added them to the sauted garlic & onions. Added spices, then liquids. Used 1 cup of beef stock, 1 can of chicken stock and 1 cup of wine for the liquid. Also used LOTS of fresh chopped garlic, but then again there is no such thing as 'too much garlic' in our family. Cooked the chicken most of the way, then added 1 red bellpepper and 2 small zuchinis. Excellent way to sneak in extra veggies. ;-) Will definitely make again. Hubby asked me to put it on the menu to make at least monthly. :-) 5 stars from my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was really great! I modified it to work in a crockpot - but hands down one of the best cacciatore's I've had in ages! Sauteed the veggies in butter and set aside. Added two chicken breasts, two thighs and two legs to the crock pot, added salt and pepper. Poured in the wine, added the sauteed veggies and italian spices (I had garden fresh basil oregano and rosemary) then topped with one drained can of tomatoes and one undrained can and a can of tomato sauce. I added the extra can of sauce because I needed a little more liquid for the crockpot - but I reserved (like it said i the recipe) the drained juice. And used that with flour to thicken at the very end. 4 hours at high, pulled the meat out and shredded off the bone added back in for another 1 hour on low. it was fabulous and I am thrilled I have so much leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
i have never made w/ red wine before so i wanted to try this version. very good. i browned the chix in bacon drippings ,then removed the chix, sauteed veggies in drippings, deglazed the pan w/ the wine and added toms. i didnt bother reserving any toms or adding flour and it was still very good. i served this over baked polenta w/ a green salad. (i also added some leftover beet greens cause i didnt want to toss them)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefHubby
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
In addition to what's listed, I added a red bell pepper minced and about a 1/2cup fresh Italian Parsley and 1/4 teaspoon sugar to reduce acidity in tomatoes. I also added 1 cup of grated Parmesan cheese to the sauce and stirred it in. Served it over whole wheat angel hair pasta. This was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefHubby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
If you are like me, you might sometimes take a pass on recipes with a few number of reviews, feeling that there is strength in numbers. This is the recipe that should make you change your mind! It is an easy cacciatore recipe that saves you the work and effort of browning the chicken and you don't lose an iota of flavor. I stayed closed to the recipe but added one red pepper as well as a package of sliced mushrooms. I am told that isn't traditional but something called hunter's stew should have mushrooms....very earthy ;-) I added six cloves of fresh garlic and omitted the garlic salt. I used fire roasted diced tomatoes and they really added a depth of flavor. Because I added veggies, I also added a 14.5oz can of fire roasted crushed tomatoes and the sauce simmered itself to a really thick state. I didn't have to add flour. Just threw the tomatoes in with their juices from the beginning. In fact, the leftovers will probably need another can of tomatoes to get some sauciness back. I did as the writer said and left the skin on the chicken which was a bit problematic as the chicken cooks until is falls off the bone so I had to chase out skin bits throughout the sauce. I used 2 breasts and a package of thighs. Next time, I will remove the skin. Excellent recipe... served over egg noodles. So good that I hid the leftovers in the back of the fridge where hubby might not find them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was fantastic! I added sliced baby carrots and chopped celery to the recipe and it was so good! Thank you for the super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States